Print RSS
Two Big 12 Players Named Earl Campbell Award Finalists
December 06, 2018

Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray and Oklahoma State’s Tylan Wallace have been named finalists for the 2018 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award.

The award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community, and tenacity. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year Division I Texas college. 

Murray, who is also a finalist for the Heisman Trophy, is the first FBS player in history to enter bowl season averaging at least 300 passing yards (311.8) and at least 60 rushing yards (68.6) per game. The junior quarterback from Allen, Texas, leads the nation with a 205.7 passing efficiency rating (FBS record is 198.9), 11.9 yards per pass attempt (FBS record is 11.1), and 16.8 yards per completion.

Wallace, a sophomore from Fort Worth, Texas, led the nation during the regular season with 59 receptions of 10 yards or longer and tied for the FBS lead with 25 receptions of 20 yards or longer. His 17.82 yards per reception also led the FBS among players with a minimum of 60 catches, and his 61 first-down receptions led all Power Five players.

The Big 12 has won the award four times with Baker Mayfield (Oklahoma) being the most recent recipient of the award in 2017.

The winner will be announced at the award banquet in Tyler, Texas on January 9, 2019.

< Football
Popular on
Load More