Print RSS
Kyler Murray Named AP Player of the Year
December 06, 2018

Kyler Murray has been named The Associated Press college football Player of the Year, becoming the second straight Oklahoma quarterback and fifth Sooner overall to win the award since it was established in 1998.

Murray received 39 first-place votes and a total of 145 points, topping finalists Tua Tagovailoa of Alabama (117 points) and Dwayne Haskins of Ohio State (55 points) in voting among 56 AP college football poll voters who submitted player of the year ballots.

Murray, Tagovailoa and Haskins are also finalists for the Heisman, which will be announced Saturday night in New York.

The Allen, Texas, product leads the No. 4 Sooners to its second consecutive College Football Playoff, where they will play No. 1 Alabama in the Orange Bowl on Dec. 29. The junior standout ranks first the nation in total yards (school-record 4,945), points responsible for (306), passing efficiency rating (205.7; FBS record is 198.9), yards per pass attempt (11.9; FBS record is 11.1) and yards per completion (16.8; tied). 

Murray joins former Sooners Josh Heupel (2000), Jason White (2003), Sam Bradford (2008) and Baker Mayfield (2017) as previous winners from Oklahoma. No other school has had more than two players win AP Player of the Year

< Football
Popular on
Load More