Print RSS
Two on Oscar Robertson Trophy Midseason List
February 06, 2019

Dedric Lawson (Kansas) and Jarrett Culver (Texas Tech) are among the 12 standouts named to the Oscar Robertson Trophy final midseason list.

The Oscar Robertson Trophy is to be presented by its namesake at the NCAA Final Four in Minneapolis in April and the winner will be honored at the USBWA Awards Dinner on April 15 at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis.

Lawson, the Big 12's Preseason Newcomer of the Year, has registered 15 double-doubles, tied for second-best in the nation. Culver is averaging 17.8 points having scored in double-figures in 22 of 23 games and is in the top-five in 10 statistical categories within the Big 12, including his 50.7 percent shooting for the season.

While these standout players are contenders for the Oscar Robertson Trophy, all NCAA Division I players are eligible for postseason honors from the USBWA. For the 10th straight season, the USBWA is presented an Oscar Robertson National Player of the Week each Tuesday that began Dec. 11.

In March, the USBWA will announce its 2018-19 All-America Team and, at that time, finalists will also be chosen for the player of the year. Once finalists are announced, the entire USBWA membership will vote for the winner of the Oscar Robertson Trophy.

Since the 1958-59 season, the USBWA has named a National Player of the Year. In 1998, the award was named in honor of the University of Cincinnati Hall of Famer and two-time USBWA Player of the Year Oscar Robertson. It is the nation's oldest player of the year award and the only one named after a former player.

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More