Print RSS
2018-19 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Awards Announced
March 06, 2019

Five student-athletes from five different programs took home individual awards headlining the 2018-19 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Women’s Basketball Awards.

Iowa State’s Bridget Carleton became the first Cyclone to win the Big 12’s Player of the Year honor. The senior from Chatham, Ontario, Canada, leads the league in scoring with 21.9 points per contest. Additionally, Carleton was a six-time Big 12 Player of the Week honoree during the season.

Baylor’s Lauren Cox repeated as Defensive Player of the Year after winning the award last season. The junior from Flower Mound, Texas, led the league with 72 blocked shots through 29 games played. She became just the third player since the award began in 2006 to become a two-time recipient, joining Oklahoma’s Courtney Paris (2006-08) and BU’s Brittney Griner (2010-13).

For the seventh time since 2005 and second-consecutive year, Baylor’s Kim Mulkey was named the Coach of the Year. Mulkey guided the Lady Bears to their fourth undefeated regular-season in Big 12 play since 2012 and a current No. 1 national ranking.

Texas Tech’s Chrislyn Carr is the third Lady Raider to earn Freshman of the Year and the first since Erin Grant was bestowed the award in 2003. Carr is averaging 17.5 points per game and is on pace to become just the third Big 12 freshman to rank in the top-five in scoring average.

Oklahoma State’s Vivian Gray was selected as Newcomer of the Year, marking a second consecutive year a Cowgirl has won this honor. Gray, a transfer from Fort Lewis College, is second in the Big 12 in scoring with 19.8 points per contest.

West Virginia freshman Kari Niblack is the second Mountaineer to win the Sixth Man Award. The Leesburg, Florida, native averaged 8.9 points, 6.6 rebounds and 1.3 blocks coming off the bench in 27 of 29 games played.

Five student-athletes earned unanimous All-Big 12 First Team honors: Kalani Brown (Baylor), Cox (Baylor), Carleton (Iowa State), Gray (Oklahoma State) and Tynice Martin (West Virginia).

Three Lady Bears earned All-Defensive Team nods, as Brown and Cox were joined by sophomore teammate DiDi Richards. This is the first time since the All-Defensive Team’s inception in 2006 that three student-athletes from the same institution were recognized. K-State’s Peyton Williams and TCU’s Jordan Moore were also selected to the squad.

Joining Carr on the All-Freshman Team were: Ashley Joens (Iowa State), Christianna Carr (K-State), Taylor Robertson (Oklahoma) and Madisen Smith (West Virginia).

The All-Big 12 honors were chosen by head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

2018-19 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Awards

Coach of the Year: Kim Mulkey, Baylor (19th season at Baylor, 19th overall)
Player of the Year: Bridget Carleton, Iowa State, G, 6-1, Sr., Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Defensive Player of the Year: Lauren Cox, Baylor, F, 6-4, Jr., Flower Mound, Texas
Newcomer of the Year: Vivian Gray, Oklahoma State, G, 6-1, So., Argyle, Texas
Freshman of the Year: Chrislyn Carr, Texas Tech, G, 5-5, Davenport, Iowa
Sixth Man Award: Kari Niblack, West Virginia, F, 6-1, Fr., Leesburg, Fla.

All-Big 12 First Team (honors listed alphabetical by school)

Player School Pos Ht Cl Hometown
Kalani Brown+^** Baylor C 6-7 Sr. Slidell, La.
Lauren Cox+** Baylor F 6-4 Jr. Flower Mound, Texas
Bridget Carleton+^** Iowa State G 6-1 Sr. Chatham, Ontario, Canada
Kayla Goth% Kansas State G 6-1 Sr. DeForest, Wis.
Peyton Williams Kansas State F 6-4 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Vivian Gray** Oklahoma State G 6-1 So. Argyle, Texas
Jordan Moore TCU C 6-3 Sr. Round Rock, Texas
Sug Sutton Texas G 5-8 Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
Naomi Davenport% West Virginia G/F 6-0 Sr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Tynice Martin^** West Virginia G 5-11 R-Jr. Atlanta, Ga.

All-Big 12 Second Team

Player School Pos Ht Cl Hometown
Chloe Jackson Baylor G 5-8 Gr. Upper Marlboro, Md.
Juicy Landrum Baylor G 5-8 Jr. Waco, Texas
Kristin Scott Iowa State C 6-3 So. Kasson, Minn.
Ana Llanusa Oklahoma G 6-0 So. Choctaw, Okla.
Amy Okonkwo% TCU F 6-2 Sr. Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.

All-Big 12 Honorable Mention

Alexa Middleton (Iowa State), Kylee Kopatich (Kansas), Christalah Lyons (Kansas), Braxtin Miller (Oklahoma State), Joyner Holmes (Texas), Danni Williams (Texas), Brittany Brewer (Texas Tech), Chrislyn Carr (Texas Tech).

** Unanimous First Team Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes voted first team by other nine coaches)
+ 2017-18 All-Big 12 First Team Selection
% 2017-18 All-Big 12 Second Team Selection
^ 2016-17 All-Big 12 First Team
> 2016-17 All-Big 12 Second Team

Big 12 All-Defensive Team

Player School Pos Ht Cl Hometown
Kalani Brown Baylor C 6-7 Sr. Slidell, La.
Lauren Cox^** Baylor F 6-4 Jr. Flower Mound, Texas
DiDi Richards Baylor G 6-1 So. Cypress, Texas
Peyton Williams Kansas State F 6-4 Jr. Topeka, Kan.
Jordan Moore TCU C 6-3 Sr. Round Rock, Texas

** Unanimous Selection (coaches cannot vote for own players, unanimous denotes selected for team on other nine ballots)
^2017-18 Selection

Big 12 All-Freshman Team

Player School Pos Ht Hometown
Ashley Joens Iowa State G 6-0 Iowa City, Iowa
Christianna Carr Kansas State G 6-1 Manhattan, Kan.
Taylor Robertson Oklahoma G 5-7 McPherson, Kan.
Chrislyn Carr Texas Tech G 5-5 Davenport, Iowa
Madisen Smith West Virginia G 5-5 Greenville, S.C.
< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More