Print RSS
OSU Wins Seventh Straight Big 12 Wrestling Championship
March 10, 2019

Oklahoma State claimed six individual titles en route to winning it seventh consecutive Big 12 Wrestling Championship.

The Cowboys finished with 158 team points followed by Iowa State (114.5 points), Northern Iowa (82 points), Oklahoma (78 points) and Fresno State (59.5 points) rounding out the top five.

The run of seven-straight conference championship titles marks the longest streak in Big 12 wrestling history, as well as OSU’s longest stretch of consecutive conference tournament titles since claiming one in eight straight seasons from 1921-1928.

Oklahoma redshirt freshman Dom Demas was named the Most Outstanding Wrestler. He captured the Big 12 title at 141 pounds to become the Sooners’ first individual champion since 2016. Demas, the No. 3 seed, pinned Oklahoma State’s Kaid Brock (No. 5) in just 54 seconds to capture the win.

Iowa State Head Coach Kevin Dresser was voted the Big 12 Coach of the year after coaching four wrestlers to the finals and leading the Cyclones to a 10-4 record in dual matches this season. 

The 2019 NCAA Wrestling Championships are scheduled for March 21-23 in PPG Paints Arena in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania. 

2019 Big 12 Wrestling Championship

Final Team Standings

1. Oklahoma State - 158

2. Iowa State - 114.5

3. Northern Iowa - 82

4. Oklahoma - 78

5. Fresno State - 59.5

6. Utah Valley - 59

7. Wyoming - 58

8. North Dakota State - 53.5

9. West Virginia - 46

10. South Dakota State - 18.5

11. Air Force - 18

12. Northern Colorado – 17

Individual Big 12 Champions

Nick Piccininni, 125-lbs (Oklahoma State)

Daton Fix, 133-lbs (Oklahoma State)

Dom Demas, 141-lbs (Oklahoma)

Kaden Gfeller, 149-lbs (Oklahoma State)

Chase Straw, 157-lbs (Iowa State)

Demetrius Romero, 165-lbs (Utah Valley)

Jacobe Smith, 174-lbs (Oklahoma State)

Drew Foster, 184-lbs (Northern Iowa)

Preston Weigel, 197-lbs (Oklahoma State)

Derek White, HWT (Oklahoma State)

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More