Print RSS
Big 12 Wrestlers Headed to Nationals
March 13, 2019

The Big 12 Conference will send 61 to the 2019 NCAA Wrestling Championship in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, March 21-23. Each weight class was awarded at least one allocation, while both the 149-lb and 197-lb weight classes earned seven each.

With the conclusion of the 2019 Big 12 Wrestling Championship, all of the individual champions will make their presence known at the national event, including three-time 125 pounds individual champion Nick Piccininni (Oklahoma State) and two-time Big 12 champs Derek White (HWT) and Preston Weigel (197 pounds), both from OSU.

Fifty-two Big 12 wrestlers were automatic qualifiers for the 2019 NCAA Wrestling Championship, while nine others earned their spots through at-large selections.

Competition is set to begin on Thursday, March 21, at Noon CT while the championship round is set for Saturday, March 23, at 7 p.m. CT. All of the matches are televised on the family of ESPN Networks.


2019 NCAA Wrestling Championship Schedule

Session 1              Thursday, March 21         Noon     ESPNU

Session 2              Thursday, March 21         7 p.m.   ESPN

Session 3              Friday, March 22               11 a.m. ESPNU

Session 4              Friday, March 22               8 p.m.   ESPN

Session 5              Saturday, March 23         11 a.m. ESPNU

Session 6              Saturday, March 23         7 p.m.   ESPN


Big 12 Wrestlers Headed to the NCAA Championship


Nick Piccininni (Oklahoma State)*

Brent Fleetwood (North Dakota State)

Alex Mackall (Iowa State)

Christian Moody (Oklahoma)

Jay Schwarm (Northern Iowa)

Rico Montoya (Northern Colorado)%

Cole Verner (Wyoming)%



Daton Fix (Oklahoma State)*

Montorie Bridges (Wyoming)

Austin Gomez (Iowa State)

Matt Schmitt (West Virginia)

Gary Joint (Fresno State)

Cam Sykora (North Dakota State)%



Dom Demas (Oklahoma)*

Kaid Brock (Oklahoma State)

Josh Alber (Northern Iowa)

Ian Parker (Iowa State)

Chris Sandoval (Northern Colorado)

Sam Turner (Wyoming)

Matt Findlay (Utah Valley)%



Kaden Gfeller (Oklahoma State)*

Jarrett Degen (Iowa State)

Davion Jeffries (Oklahoma)

Christian Monserrat (West Virginia)

Henry Pohlmeyer (South Dakota State)

Khristian Olivas (Fresno State)

Max Thomsen (Northern Iowa)



Chase Straw (Iowa State)*

Justin Thomas (Oklahoma)%



Demetrius Romero (Utah Valley)*

Andrew Fogarty (North Dakota State)

Bryce Steiert (Northern Iowa)

Branson Ashworth (Wyoming)

Joe Smith (Oklahoma State)

Nick Kiussis (West Virginia)%



Jacobe Smith (Oklahoma State)*

Taylor Lujan (Northern Iowa)

Lorenzo De La Riva (North Dakota State)

Kimball Bastian (Utah Valley)

Marcus Coleman (Iowa State)

Hayden Hastings (Wyoming)%



Drew Foster (Northern Iowa)*

Sam Colbray (Iowa State)

Dakota Geer (Oklahoma State)

Will Sumner (Utah Valley)

Jackson Hemauer (Fresno State)

Tate Samuelson (Wyoming)%



Preston Weigel (Oklahoma State)*

Willie Miklus (Iowa State)

Jake Woodley (Oklahoma)

Josh Hokit (Fresno State)

Noah Adams (West Virginia)

Tanner Orndorff (Utah Valley)

Anthony McLaughlin (Air Force)

Jacob Seely (Northern Colorado)%



Derek White (Oklahoma State)*

AJ Nevills (Fresno State)

Tate Orndorff (Utah Valley)

Brian Andrews (Wyoming)

Gannon Gremmel (Iowa State)

Brandon Ngati (West Virginia)


*- Indicates Big 12 Individual Champion

%- Indicates at large addition

< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More