Print RSS
Sooners Win Eighth Consecutive Big 12 Gymnastics Championship
March 23, 2019

The No. 1 nationally ranked Oklahoma Sooners earned the Big 12 Gymnastics Championship title for the eighth consecutive year.

Oklahoma recorded 197.575 points followed by No. 5 Denver in second with 197.250 points. Iowa State finished in third place with 195. 950 points and West Virginia in fourth with 195.600 points.

Maddie Karr became the first Denver gymnast to take home the all-around title, notching a 39.600 mark. The junior also took a share of first place in vault with teammate Lynnzee Brown (9.950) and bars with OU’s Maggie Nichols (9.950). Nichols also placed first on beam with a 9.950. Freshman Olivia Trautman ended the meet taking home the floor event title (9.975) after receiving two perfect marks.

Following the meet, the conference announced its annual awards as determined by the league’s coaches in a pre-championship vote. Dowell received Big 12 Gymnast of the Year, while Jade Degouveia earned Event Specialist of the Year. Olivia Trautman was honored as Newcomer of the Year and Melissa Kutcher-Rinehart (DU) recorded her second Coach of the Year honor.

The teams will now await the NCAA Regional selections. The Women’s NCAA Championship will be held at the Fort Worth (Texas) Convention Center on April 19-20.

2019 Big 12 Gymnastics Championship Results

1. Oklahoma, 197.575

2. Denver, 197.250

3. Iowa State, 195.950

4. West Virginia, 195.600


All-Big 12 Championship Team

All Around: Maddie Karr, Denver (39.600); Anastasia Webb, Oklahoma (39.550); Lynnzee Brown, Denver (39.550)

Vault: Maddie Karr, Denver (9.950); Lynnzee Brown, Denver (9.950); Anastasia Webb, Oklahoma (9.925)

Bars: Maggie Nichols, Oklahoma (9.950); Maddie Karr, Denver (9.950); Karrie Thomas, Oklahoma (9.925); Lynnzee Brown, Denver (9.925)

Beam: Maggie Nichols, Oklahoma (9.950); Nicole Lehrmann, Oklahoma (9.900); Carly Woodard, Oklahoma (9.900); Alexis Vasquez, Denver (9.900); Kaitlyn Schou, Denver (9.900)

Floor: Olivia Trautman, Oklahoma (9.975); Brenna Dowell, Oklahoma (9.925); Maddie Karr, Denver (9.900)


2019 Big 12 Gymnastics Of the Year Awards

Gymnast of the Year: Brenna Dowell, Oklahoma

Event Specialist of the Year: Jade Degouveia, Oklahoma

Newcomer of the Year: Olivia Trautman, Oklahoma

Coach of the Year: Melissa Kutcher-Rinehart, Denver

< Gymnastics
Popular on
Load More