Print RSS
UT's Haas Named Finalist for 89th AAU Sullivan Award
April 03, 2019

University of Texas senior swimmer Townley Haas was named a finalist for the 89th James E. Sullivan Award. Haas is looking to become the first Longhorn in any sport to take home the prestigious award that honors the top amateur athlete in collegiate athletics.

A 15-time Big 12 Champion and 13-time All-American, Haas has earned NCAA National Championships in the last three seasons. In 2018, he took home the 200 freestyle and 500 freestyle gold. In 2019, he’s already nabbed gold in the Big 12 in the 200 and 500 again, the fourth straight year in the 200. He also won the 500 free for the third time in his career at NCAAs this past weekend in his home pool. He also was on two winning relays this week at NCAAs, anchoring Texas to wins in the 800 free and 400 free relays to start and end the meet.

In the 200 free, he has the second fastest time in history with a time of 1:29.50 that he set at the 2018 NCAAs. He holds the NCAA Record in the 500 free of 4:08.19, the second fastest time in history.

The Richmond, Va. native is also a 2x gold medalist at the 2018 Pan Pacific Championships, winning the individual 200 free and anchoring the 4×200 free relay team. He looks to repeat his Olympic gold from Rio again in 2020 in Tokyo. He was fifth in the 200 free at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio and also swam the fastest leg on the winning 4×200 free relay team in Rio.

In total, there are eight finalists for an award that dates back to 1930 and includes winners such as Michael Phelps, Mark Spitz and Missy Franklin. The AAU will host a special ceremony in New York City for honorees on April 16. Family, friends and fans can use #VoteforTownley and #AAUSullivan in their tweets and click on the link to vote for Haas.

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More