Print RSS
All-Big 12 Swimming and Diving Honors Revealed
April 04, 2019

The Big 12 announced the recipients of the 2018-19 Big 12 Swimming and Diving ‘Of the Year’ awards, voted on by league coaches. Performances throughout the 2018-19 regular and postseason are placed under consideration when determining the honorees.

For the third time in Big 12 history and for the second straight year, Texas has swept the postseason awards.

Senior John Shebat was awarded Men’s Swimmer of the Year for his impressive performances at the Big 12 and NCAA Championships. At the Big 12 Championship, Shebat picked up four titles (200 medley relay, 200 IM, 400 medley relay, and 200 free relay). In his final individual race as a Longhorn, the senior earned his first individual title in the 200 backstroke at the NCAA Championships with the second-fastest time in history (1:36.42).

Claire Adams became the first student-athlete since 2004 to be named Women’s Swimmer of the Year in back-to-back seasons. Adams, who set the Big 12 record in the 100 free in December, repeated as gold medalist in the 100 backstroke and freestyle events at this year’s Conference championship. She also helped the Longhorns secure titles in all five relays.

Men’s Diver of the Year Jordan Windle and Women’s Diver of the Year Murphy Bromberg were both named national champions on the platform event. Windle became the first Longhorn and Big 12 diver to win the event with 447.00 points while Bromberg was the fourth Big 12 diver, winning by nearly 60 points. The two also took home the Big 12 title on platform.

Drew Kibler tabbed Men’s Newcomer of the Year after helping the Longhorns win the national title in the 800 free relay at this year’s NCAA Championships and earning five All-American awards. Women’s Newcomer of the Year Grace Ariola matched the conference record in the 50 free (21.73) at the Texas Swimming Invitational, won the Big 12 title in the 50 free (22.09) and was named Big 12 Conference Newcomer of the Meet.

Coach Eddie Reese recorded his 26th top-2 finish at the NCAA Championships, as UT finished as the runner-up, and led the Longhorns to their 40th consecutive conference title. Carol Capitani help the women’s team secure the Big 12 title and a top five finish at the NCAA Championships. Matt Scoggin swept the Diving Coach of the Year awards for both the men’s and women’s programs for the fourth straight season.



Men’s Swimmer of the Year: John Shebat, Texas, Sr.

Women’s Swimmer of the Year: Claire Adams, Texas, Jr.

Men’s Diver of the Year: Jordan Windle, Texas, So.

Women’s Diver of the Year: Murphy Bromberg, Texas, Sr.

Men’s Newcomer of the Year: Drew Kibler, Texas

Women’s Newcomer of the Year: Grace Ariola, Texas

Men’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Eddie Reese, Texas

Women’s Swimming Coach of the Year: Carol Capitani, Texas

Men’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas

Women’s Diving Coach of the Year: Matt Scoggin, Texas

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More