Print RSS
UNI's Foster Named Big 12 Wrestler of the Year
April 09, 2019

Northern Iowa’s Drew Foster (184-lbs) was named the Big 12 Wrestler of the Year, as selected by the conference's head coaches. Foster is the fourth recipient of the yearly honors.

The Burlington, Iowa, native garnered the Big 12 yearly accolade after being crowned the 2019 Big 12 Individual Champion and NCAA Division I Individual Champion at the 184-pound weight class during the 2018-19 season.

Foster completed his senior campaign with a 28-5 record, 12-5 against ranked opponents, including a perfect run in the postseason (3-0 Big 12 Championship, 5-0 NCAA Championship).

The two-time All-American’s NCAA title marks the first individual champion for UNI in nearly 20 years. In Big 12 history, he was the first individual champ at the 184 weight division since 2010 and the sixth in that weight class.

Big 12 Wrestler of the Year Winners

Year Name School, Weight Class
2016 Alex Dieringer Oklahoma State, 165
2017 Dean Heil Oklahoma State, 141
2018 Seth Gross South Dakota State, 133
2019 Drew Foster Northern Iowa, 184
< Wrestling
Popular on
Load More