Print RSS
2019 All-Tournament Tennis Teams Announced
April 22, 2019

With the conclusion of the 2019 Big 12 Tennis Championship, a Big 12 All-Tournament Team was selected for both the men and women. Honorees named to the list were selected by a vote of the league’s head coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own student-athletes.

Leading the way for the men’s programs was Texas with four selections, while newly crowned Big 12 Tennis Champions, Kansas, recorded six, sweeping the doubles awards.

Adrian Boitan (Baylor, No. 3 Singles) and Maria Toran Ribes (Kansas, No. 6 Singles) were not only named the Most Outstanding Players of the 2019 championship, but they also snagged All-Tournament Team honors in their respective singles positions. Toran Ribes earned recognition for her No. 3 Doubles play as well.

Holding firm atop the No. 1 Singles for the men was Christian Sigsgaard (Texas). The senior captured a win over Oklahoma’s Spencer Papa in the men’s semifinal match and was en route to a third set comeback over Baylor's Johannes Schretter. Anastasia Rychagova (Kansas) was voted the No. 1 Singles honoree for the women after her win the in the semis in straight sets over OSU’s Katarina Stresnakova and a 6-4, 6-5, unfinished match in the women’s final, a game away from completing back-to-back straight set victories. 

All three women’s doubles selections hailed from the host-school as the tandems of Janet Koch/Nina Khmelnitckaia, Rychagova/Sonia Smagina and Toran Ribes/Malkia Ngounue were named to the No. 1, No. 2 and No. 3 Doubles team spots, respectively.

On the men’s side of the doubles list, Texas’ Harrison Scott/Sigsgaard were named the No. 1 duo of the tournament for a second consecutive year, while No. 2 Emile Hudd/Matej Vocel and No. 3 Luke Hammond/Brady Draheim represented Oklahoma State.

The No. 2 Singles student-athlete (Matias Soto) and No. 3 Singles player (Boitan), were both from the 2019 Big 12 Men’s Tennis Championship winning team, the Baylor Bears. For the second year in a row, UT’s Anna Turati (No. 2 Singles) and Petra Granic (No. 3 Singles) were named to the team in the same singles positions.

Last year’s men’s No. 3 Singles award winner, Scott, earned No. 4 Singles honors. The Bears’ Sven Lah (No. 5) and UT’s Rodrigo Banzer (No. 6) capped off the men’s team. No. 4 Marina Guinart (Oklahoma State), No. 5 Khmelnitckaia and No. 6 Toran Ribes rounded out the women’s awards.


2019 Big 12 Tennis All-Tournament Teams

Men's Tennis


No. 1 Harrison Scott, Texas, Sr.
Christian Sigsgaard, Texas, Jr.

No. 2 Emile Hudd, Oklahoma State, Fr.
Matej Vocel, Oklahoma State, So.

No. 3 Luke Hammond, Oklahoma State, So.
Brady Draheim, Oklahoma State, So.



No. 1 Christian Sigsgaard, Texas, Jr.

No. 2 Matias Soto, Baylor, So.

No. 3 Adrian Boitan, Baylor, Fr.

No. 4 Harrison Scott, Texas, Sr.

No. 5 Sven Lah, Baylor, So.

No. 6 Rodrigo Banzer, Texas, Sr.


Women’s Tennis


No. 1 Janet Koch, Kansas, Sr.
Nina Khmelnitckaia, Kansas, Sr.

No. 2 Anastasia Rychagova, Kansas, Sr.
Sonia Smagina, Kansas, Fr.

No. 3 Maria Toran Ribes, Kansas, Jr.
Malkia Ngounue, Kansas, Fr.



No. 1 Anastasia Rychagova, Kansas, Sr.

No. 2 Anna Turati, Texas, Jr.

No. 3 Petra Granic, Texas, Jr.

No. 4 Marina Guinart, Oklahoma State, Sr.

No. 5 Nina Khmelnitckaia, Kansas, Sr.

No. 6 Maria Toran Ribes, Kansas, Jr.


< Tennis
Popular on
Load More