Print RSS
Hovland, Wolff Named Hogan Award Finalists
May 03, 2019

Oklahoma State’s Viktor Hovland and Matthew Wolff were named two of the three finalists for the Ben Hogan Award, announced today by The Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

Hovland and Wolff are the third set of teammates ever to be finalists. They are joined by  California’s Collin Morikawa. For the first time in the award’s history, all three players are ranked among the top five in all four major ranking systems.

The Ben Hogan Award is given annually to the top men’s college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions over the past 12 months. The selection committee is made up of 30 leaders and experts in amateur, college and professional golf. In order to determine the finalists, each committee member cast a ballot that ranked the group of 10 semifinalists from 1-10.

Hovland is currently ranked first in three systems: World Amateur Golf Ranking, Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking and Golfweek / Sagarin Ranking. In addition, he is listed third in the Golfstat College Ranking. Last month, he claimed the Silver Cup as the low amateur at the 2019 Masters Tournament after tying for 32nd place.

For the season, Hovland boasts a stroke average of 68.53 with 13 of his 19 rounds in the 60s. He shared 11th place at the 2018 NCAA Championship.

Wolff is currently the top-ranked player in the Golfstat rankings and joins the other two finalists by being listed among the top four in all four ranking systems. He is rated second by Golfweek /Sagarin and is third in the Scratch Players World Amateur Ranking and fourth in the World Amateur Golf Ranking.

The sophomore boasts a 68.36 stroke average with 18 of his 28 rounds in the 60s. Wolff has finished inside in the top 15 in all 10 events. He shared seventh place at last year’s NCAA Championships and sank the clinching putt in match play that sealed the Cowboys’ national title.

Hovland and Wolff are each attempting to become the fourth winner from Oklahoma State, joining Hunter Mahan (2003), Fowler (2008) and Peter Uihlein (2011). Previous finalist teammates were Stanford’s Rodgers and Cameron Wilson in 2014 and Oklahoma State’s Uihlein and Kevin Tway in 2011.

OSU now has seven finalists since 2005, surpassing Stanford (6) for the most by any school.

< Golf
Popular on
Load More