Print RSS
Four Big 12 Teams Earn NCAA Softball Regional Bids
May 12, 2019

Fifty-seven percent of Big 12 programs are slated to play in the 2019 NCAA Division I Softball Championship. Oklahoma, Texas, Oklahoma State and Texas Tech received postseason bids.

This marks the sixth straight year the Big 12 has totaled four postseason berths. Three out of the four Big 12 teams will be hosting an NCAA Regional.

The eight-time defending Big 12 champion Oklahoma earned the No.1 overall seed in the tournament. OU has been a national seed for each of the past 13 seasons and will host a regional for the ninth year in a row. This is also the second time in program history that the Sooners have been the top-seeded team, also earning the No. 1 spot in 2013. The Sooners will play UMBC at 8:30 p.m. CT Friday, March 17 on ESPN2.

For the first time since 2013, the No. 9 Texas Longhorns will serve as an NCAA Regional host site. This is the program’s 15th consecutive postseason berth. The Longhorns are set to play Sam Houston State on Friday at 4 p.m. CT on the Longhorn Network.

No. 13 Oklahoma State will also be hosting an NCAA Regional for the first time since 1998. The Cowgirls will be joined in Stillwater by Arkansas, Tulsa and BYU. OSU will clash with BYU at 7:30 p.m. CT on ESPN3.

Texas Tech will travel to Baton Rouge, La., for its sixth appearance in the NCAA Softball Tournament. The Red Raiders will go head-to-head against Louisiana Tech on Friday, at 2 p.m. CT on ESPN3 and will face either Monmouth or the host LSU Tigers in the remainder of the tournament.

Thirty-two conferences were awarded an automatic qualification, while the remaining 32 slots were filled with at-large selections to complete the bracket. The top 16 teams were seeded nationally and will play at campus sites beginning this Thursday. 

Additionally, Iowa State was selected for the National Invitational Softball Championship (NISC). This marks the program's first time in a national postseason tournament since 1988, when they advanced to NCAA Regionals in Lincoln, Neb. ISU will serve as one of four regional hosts in the tournament, which begins Thursday at the Cyclone Sports Complex. The Cyclones will play the winner of the South Dakota State/Purdue game at 4 p.m. 

< Softball
Popular on
Load More