Print RSS
OU and OSU Head to Women's College World Series
May 25, 2019

No. 1 Oklahoma and No. 13 Oklahoma State have punched tickets to the Women’s College World Series (WCWS) in Oklahoma City from May 30 – June 5. This is the second time in three years that two Big 12 teams have advanced to the WCWS.

Behind an 8-0 victory over No. 16 seed Northwestern, OU advances to its 13th all-time WCWS. This will be the Sooners’ eighth WCWS appearance in the last nine years. No other program in the country has made as many trips to the WCWS as OU since the 2011 season.

OSU continues its magical postseason run after defeating No. 4 Florida State, 3-2, to win the Tallahassee Super Regional. The Cowgirls secure the program’s first WCWS berth since 2011. It is also the eight time overall that OSU has advanced to OKC, a mark which ties Texas A&M for the 12th-most WCWS appearances in NCAA history.

Oklahoma will face No. 8 Alabama while OSU will await its opponent in OKC. The Pokes will face the winner of the Gainesville Super Regional (Florida or Tennessee) in their first contest. The teams will play in double-elimination format, with the last two teams then playing in a best-of-three championship series.

Additionally, Iowa State rallied to advance to Championship Sunday at the National Invitational Softball Championship (NISC) after defeating Loyola Marymount 5-2.  The Cyclones will face UT Arlington tomorrow at 1 p.m. CT. A win would force a decisive championship game at 3 p.m. CT.

< Softball
Popular on
Load More