Print RSS
Cowboys Win 2019 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship
May 26, 2019

Bracket - Box Score
QuotesNotes - Book 
Postgame Press Conference - All-Tournament Team

OKLAHOMA CITY – No. 3-seed Oklahoma State won the 2019 Phillips 66 Big 12 Championship in Sunday’s tournament finale, topping No. 4-seed West Virginia by a score of 5-2.

The Cowboys (36-18) claimed their third Big 12 Championship title of all-time and second in the last three years (2017, 2019).

The Mountaineers (37-20) opened the scoring and took a 1-0 lead in the top of the third inning thanks to a run-scoring double play. Junior TJ Lake scampered home after junior Brandon White bounced into the twin killing.

OSU then took advantage of a three-run fifth to go in front 3-1. Senior Colin Simpson walked with the bases loaded, setting up a two-run double off the bat of junior Andrew Navigato.

Oklahoma State added some insurance runs in the bottom of the eighth, as junior Carson McCusker singled home Navigato and then scored on junior Alix Garcia’s RBI knock that made it 5-1.

West Virginia scored one in the ninth off an RBI groundout by junior Kevin Brophy, but it wasn’t enough to make a comeback, as OSU’s pitching proved to be too much for the Mountaineers to handle.

Freshman Brett Standlee was outstanding on the bump for the Cowboys, going seven innings while allowing just one run on seven scattered hits. He earned the win to improve to 3-1 on the year. Junior Brady Basso came on to induce a 4-6-3 double play before turning it over to junior Peyton Battenfield, who went 1.1 scoreless innings to earn his third save of 2019.

OSU’s Colin Simpson was named Most Outstanding Player for this year’s championship, going 5-for-15 with three home runs and six RBI on the weekend.

Oklahoma State earns the Big 12 automatic bid into the NCAA Tournament. West Virginia will await its postseason destination to be announced on Monday.

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More