Print RSS
OSU's Matthew Wolff Named Jack Nicklaus Award Winner
May 31, 2019

Oklahoma State’s Matthew Wolff was named the 2019 recipient of the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

A sophomore, Wolff set the school’s single-season record for wins in a season with six, including his five-shot victory this week at the NCAA Championship. With his win, Wolff became the ninth Cowboy to win an individual national championship. The Agoura Hills, Calif., native opened the year with four consecutive full-field victories, winning The Carmel Cup, Fighting Illini Invitational, Royal Oaks Intercollegiate and Amer Ari Invitational. He added his fifth win of the year at the Valspar Collegiate.

Wolff, who was also named a first-team All-American earlier this week, joins current OSU head coach Alan Bratton (1994), Charles Howell (2000), Hunter Mahan (2003) and Pablo Martin (2006) as Cowboys to win the award.

In addition to receiving the Jack Nicklaus National Player of the Year Award, the five recipients will compete in the Barbasol Shootout for an exemption into the PGA TOUR’s Barbasol Championship, held July 18-21, at the Champions at Keene Trace in Lexington, Ky. The Barbasol Shootout will be held Saturday, June 1 at The Ohio State University Golf Club’s Scarlet Course in Columbus, Ohio - the same club where Jack Nicklaus played collegiate golf for the Buckeyes. 

Mr. Nicklaus will recognize the Nicklaus Award recipients the following day at 10 a.m. during the final round of the Memorial Tournament presented by Nationwide at Muirfield Village Golf Club. As the Division I Nicklaus Award recipient, Wolff will also receive an exemption to the following year’s Memorial Tournament.

< Golf
Popular on
Load More