Print RSS
Three Big 12 Men's Golfers Named to All-Nicklaus Team
June 25, 2019

Texas’ Cole Hammer and Oklahoma State’s duo of Viktor Hovland and Matthew Wolff were named to the All-Nicklaus Team presented by Barbasol, announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA). All three golfers also earned GCAA First Team All-America status last month.

Hammer earned the Division I Phil Mickelson Outstanding Freshman Award, leading the Longhorns to a runner-up finish at the 2019 NCAA Championships.

Hovland took home the Ben Hogan Award and became the first player since 1998 to earn low amateur status at The Masters and the U.S. Open.

Wolff was named the recipient of the 2019 Fred Haskins Award as the nation’s most outstanding male collegiate golfer and was also the winner of the Jack Nicklaus Award as the nation’s top player.

Players from Divisions I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA were recognized for their outstanding play during the 2018-19 collegiate season. The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988 and it is now presented to the National Player of the year in NCAA Divisions I, II and III, as well as NAIA and NJCAA. Award recipients have combined for over 200 victories worldwide and claimed 23 major championships.

< Golf
Popular on
Load More