Print RSS
Oklahoma Athlete of the Year Nominees
July 02, 2019

2018-19 Big 12 Athlete of the Year candidates will be highlighted each weekday through July 10.

Fans will be able to vote for their male and female choices beginning on July 5 and concluding on July 10 on

Fan voting will be considered in the final tally for selecting this prestigious award. Today’s featured candidates are Oklahoma’s Brenna Dowell and Kyler Murray.

OU Female Athlete of the Year Candidate
Brenna Dowell; Gymnastics
R-Sr., Odessa, Mo.

^ Led the Sooners to the 2019 National Championship, while sharing the NCAA floor national title
^ NCAA First Team All-American (floor, all-around) and Second Team All-American (vault)
^ 2019 Big 12 Gymnast of the Year
^ Three-Time All-Big 12 honoree (vault, floor, all-around)
^ 2019 Athens Regional All-Around Champion

OU Male Athlete of the Year Candidate
Kyler Murray; Football
R-Jr.; Allen, Texas

^ 2018 Heisman Trophy Winner
^ Selected as the first pick of the 2019 NFL Draft by the Arizona Cardinals
^ Won multiple awards including the Davey O’Brien Quarterback of the Year, Manning Award, Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award and AP Player of the Year
^ Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year, All-Big 12 First Team Performer and First Team All-American
^ First player in FBS history to average at least 300 passing yards (311.5) and at least 60 rushing yards (71.5) per game for a full season

2018-19 Big 12 Athlete of the Year Candidates
Baylor: Lauren Cox (Women’s Basketball) and Davis Wendzel (Baseball)
Iowa State: Bridget Carleton (Women’s Basketball) and Edwin Kurgat (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Kansas: Nina Khmelnitckaia (Women’s Tennis) and Bryce Hoppel (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
K-State: Peyton Williams (Women’s Basketball) and Tejaswin Shankar (Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country)
Oklahoma: Brenna Dowell (Gymnastics) and Kyler Murray (Football)
Oklahoma State: Sinclaire Johnson (Track & Field/Cross Country) and Viktor Hovland (Men’s Golf)
TCU: Destiny Longmire (Women’s Track & Field) and Chengetayi Mapaya (Men’s Track & Field)
Texas: Ashtin Zamzow (Women’s Track & Field) and Christian Sigsgaard (Men’s Tennis)
Texas Tech: Karli Hamilton (Softball) and Divine Oduduru (Men’s Track & Field)
West Virginia: Bianca St. Georges (Soccer) and Will Grier (Football)

< Conference
Popular on
Load More