Print RSS
Maxwell & Bednarik Watch Lists Announced
July 15, 2019

The Maxwell Football Club announced its watch lists for the 83rd annual Maxwell Award and the 25th annual Chuck Bednarik Award on Monday.

Sixteen Big 12 players combined were named to the watch lists, with 10 being featured on the Maxwell Award list and six on the Chuck Bednarik Award list.

Oklahoma and Oklahoma State each saw two players named to the Maxwell Award watch list, while TCU was the lone Big 12 school with multiple student-athletes named to the Bednarik Award watch list.

The Maxwell Award, which is named after Robert W. “Tiny” Maxwell, has been given to America’s College Player of the Year since 1937. A player, a sportswriter and an official, Maxwell was a constant presence in the football world.

The Maxwell candidates representing the Big 12 are Baylor QB Charlie Brewer, Iowa State QB Brock Purdy, Kansas State RB James Gilbert, Oklahoma QB Jalen Hurts and WR CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma State RB Chuba Hubbard and WR Tylan Wallace, TCU WR Jalen Reagor, Texas QB Sam Ehlinger, and Texas Tech QB Alan Bowman.

The Chuck Bednarik Award is given to the National Defensive Player of the Year. Named after the Hall of Fame linebacker, Chuck Bednarik was a standout at Penn and with the Philadelphia Eagles.

The Bednarik candidates representing the Big 12 are Baylor DL James Lynch, Iowa State DE JaQuan Bailey, Oklahoma LB Kenneth Murray, TCU DT Ross Blacklock and CB Jeff Gladney, and Texas S Caden Sterns.

The Big 12 has had five previous winners of the Maxwell Award, with QB Baker Mayfield of Oklahoma being the most recent recipient in 2017. A Big 12 student-athlete has won the Bednarik Award three times, most recently in 2009.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced on October 29, 2019, while the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 25, 2019. The winners of each award will be announced as part of the Home Depot College Football Awards Show on December 12, 2019.


Chuck Bednarik Award Watch List

James Lynch, DL, Baylor

JaQuan Bailey, DE, Iowa State

Kenneth Murray, LB, Oklahoma

Ross Blacklock, DT, TCU

Jeff Gladney, CB, TCU

Caden Sterns, S, Texas


Maxwell Award Watch List

Charlie Brewer, QB, Baylor

Brock Purdy, QB, Iowa State

James Gilbert, RB, Kansas State

Jalen Hurts, QB, Oklahoma

CeeDee Lamb, WR, Oklahoma

Chuba Hubbard, RB, Oklahoma State

Tylan Wallace, WR, Oklahoma State

Jalen Reagor, WR, TCU

Sam Ehlinger, QB, Texas

Alan Bowman, QB, Texas Tech

< Football
Popular on
Load More