Print RSS
Four Named to Davey O'Brien Award Watch List
July 16, 2019

Four Big 12 quarterbacks were named to the 2019 Davey O’Brien Award watch list, as announced Tuesday by the Davey O’Brien Foundation.

Baylor’s Charlie Brewer, Iowa State’s Brock Purdy, Texas’s Sam Ehlinger and Texas Tech’s Alan Bowman were among the 30 student-athletes who appeared on the list.

For the past two seasons, a Big 12 quarterback has taken home the Davey O’Brien Award, as Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray (2018) and Baker Mayfield (2017) were previously presented with the honor. The Big 12 has had 10 previous winners of the Davey O’Brien Award since the league’s inception in 1996, the most by any conference.

The award, which honors the nation’s top college quarterback, is presented annually and is regarded as the most prestigious national quarterback award. Appearing on the watch list is not a requirement for a player to win the award. Quarterbacks from all NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible.

Sixteen semifinalists for the award will be named on Wednesday, Nov. 13. From that list, the Foundation will announce the three finalists on Monday, Nov. 25.

The 2019 Davey O’Brien Award winner will be unveiled live on ESPN Thursday, Dec. 12, during The Home Depot College Football Awards.

The 2019 season marks the 13th year that fans will be invited to participate in the voting process on Results from the Davey O’Brien fan vote will be combined with the ballots from the selection committee.

The 43rd Annual Davey O’Brien Awards Dinner will be held Monday, Feb. 17, 2020, in Fort Worth, Texas.


2019 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List

Charlie Brewer, Baylor

Brock Purdy, Iowa State

Sam Ehlinger, Texas

Alan Bowman, Texas Tech



< Football
Popular on
Load More