Print RSS
Mackey and Rimington Award Watch Lists Unveiled
July 19, 2019

A combined nine Big 12 student-athletes were named to the John Mackey Award and Rimington Trophy Watch Lists, as announced Friday.

Three Big 12 schools are represented on the John Mackey Award list with Iowa State’s Charlie Kolar, Oklahoma’s Grant Calcaterra and West Virginia’s Jovani Haskins.

The John Mackey Award is handed out annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end. The Big 12 has had one student-athlete previously honored with the accolade, as Mark Andrews from Oklahoma took home the hardware in 2017.

The 2019 Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2019 and presented live on December 12, 2019 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show on ESPNU.

The Rimington Trophy Committee also announced that six Big 12 centers have been named to the watch list. The Rimington Trophy is given each season to the nation’s most outstanding center in Division I football.

The candidates representing the Big 12 this year are Iowa State’s Colin Newell, Kansas State’s Adam Holtorf, Oklahoma’s Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma State’s Johnny Wilson, TCU’s Kellton Hollins and Texas’s Zach Shackelford.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses three prestigious teams to determine the award winner: Walker Camp Foundation, Sporting News and Football Writers Association of America. The recipient will be recognized at the Rimington Trophy Presentation on January 18, 2020.


John Mackey Award Watch List

Charlie Kolar, Iowa State

Grant Calcaterra, Oklahoma

Jovani Haskins, West Virginia


Rimington Trophy Watch List

Colin Newell, Iowa State

Adam Holtorf, Kansas State

Creed Humphrey, Oklahoma

Johnny Wilson, Oklahoma State

Kellton Hollins, TCU

Zach Shackelford, Texas

< Football
Popular on
Load More