Print RSS
Four Named to Hermann Trophy Watch List
August 01, 2019

Four Big 12 women’s soccer players were named to the 2019 MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List Thursday, as announced by the United Soccer Coaches and the Missouri Athletic Club.

2018 Big 12 Offensive Player of the Year Cyera Hintzen of Texas headlines the conference’s selections. Her teammate Haley Berg, as well as TCU’s Yazmeen Ryan and West Virginia’s Rylee Foster, round out the Big 12 nominations. All four student-athletes were named All-Big 12 First Team members last season.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual award in college soccer and is presented annually to the most outstanding male and female players of the year.

Ryan, a junior midfielder, scored five goals in 2018, with four of them serving as game-winners en route to her all-conference selection.

The Longhorns tandem of Berg and Hintzen each placed inside the league’s top 10 in goals scored, as Berg netted six and Hintzen scored 10. Hintzen also led the Big 12 in points (29) and assists (nine).

Foster, a senior goalkeeper, racked up 11 shutouts last season for the Mountaineers, including one in West Virginia’s Big 12 Championship 3-0 victory over Baylor, and tallied a .723 save percentage.

Fifteen semifinalists for the award will be named near the end of the college season based on voting by NCAA Division I coaches. From those candidates, three finalists will be placed on the ballot and a winner will be announced in January of 2020.


Big 12 Student-Athletes MAC Hermann Trophy Watch List

Yazmeen Ryan, MF, TCU

Haley Berg, MF, Texas

Cyera Hintzen, F, Texas

Rylee Foster, GK, West Virginia

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More