Print RSS
Four Big 12 QB's on Manning Watch List
August 21, 2019

Baylor’s Charlie Brewer, Iowa State's Brock Purdy, Texas’ Sam Ehlinger and Texas Tech’s Alan Bowman were named to the 2019 Manning Award Preseason Watch List.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

Inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Midseason additions to the Watch List will be announced on Thursday, October 17. The list of 10 finalists will be released on Thursday, November 28. The winner will be announced in the week following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

Last season, Kyler Murray was named the Manning Award recipient, making Oklahoma (Murray and Baker Mayfield) one of two schools, alongside Texas (Colt McCoy and Vince Young), to be the only programs with two different winners in the 15-year history of the award.

A third of Manning Award winners (Robert Griffin III, Mayfield, Murray and Young) have hailed from the Big 12 Conference - the most honorees of any conference in the nation.


Manning Award Preseason Watch List (Big 12 Players)

Charlie Brewer, Baylor
Brock Purdy, Iowa State
Sam Ehlinger, Texas
Alan Bowman, Texas Tech

< Football
Popular on
Load More