Print RSS
NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships Set For This Weekend
March 19, 2014


Three of the league’s six women’s swimming and diving programs will be represented at the 2014 NCAA Swimming and Diving Championships, which begin Thursday, March 20 and conclude March 22 at the Minnesota Aquatic Center in Minneapolis, Minn. Three Big 12 divers will compete while 11 of the conference’s swimmers will participate.

Iowa State senior breaststroker Imelda Wistey was selected to compete in the event. Wistey will participate in the 100 and 200 breaststroke, becoming the first Cyclone swimmer to qualify since Nan Liu earned a ticket to the 2010 championships.

Looking to improve on her strong performance at the 2014 Big 12 Championships, sophomore Chelsie Miller will represent Kansas. Throughout the season, Miller qualified for three events: the 200-yard individual medley, the 400-yard individual medley and the 1650-yard freestyle. She broke KU all-time records in all three events at the Big 12 Championships earlier this month.

Nine individual qualifiers will represent the Texas women. Additionally, Texas has qualified all five relays to compete at the national meet. Senior All-Americans Ellen Lobb, Lily Moldenhauer and Samantha Tucker will make their fourth consecutive appearances, and senior All-American Alex Hooper will compete individually for the first time at a NCAA Championship meet. Juniors Gretchen Jaques, Kelsey LeNeave and Kaitlin Pawlowicz will make their third consecutive NCAA Championships appearances while freshmen Madisyn Cox and Tasija Karosas are making debut appearances in the event.

The Texas divers took a liking to the diving boards at Minnesota's University Aquatic Center last week at the NCAA Zone "D" Diving Meet, where three Longhorns qualified for the NCAA Championships. Senior Maren Taylor swept the springboard events and earned her fourth trip to the NCAA Championships in as many attempts.  Junior Emma Ivory-Ganja earned her first trip to the NCAA Championships as a Longhorn after earning All-America honors on platform last season for UCLA. Freshman Murphy Bromberg handily won the platform competition to become the third Longhorn to qualify for the national meet.  Texas will take three divers to the NCAA Championships for the first time since 2009.

A live video stream will be available at during all preliminary sessions and the Thursday finals session. will air a live video stream during the Friday and Saturday evening finals sessions.  ESPNU will air a tape-delayed telecast at a later date.   

Imelda Wistey, Iowa State
Chelsie Miller, Kansas
Ellen Lobb, Texas
Lily Moldenhauer, Texas
Samantha Tucker, Texas
Alex Hooper, Texas
Gretchen Jaques, Texas
Kelsey LeNeave, Texas
Kaitlin Pawlowicz, Texas
Madisyn Cox, Texas
Tasija Karosas, Texas

Maren Taylor, Texas
Emma Ivory-Ganja, Texas
Murphy Bromberg, Texas

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More