Print RSS
Big 12 Squads Set For NCAA Men's Swimming and Diving Championships
March 25, 2014


The Big 12’s three men’s swimming and diving teams will return to the site of the 2014 Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships to compete for NCAA titles. The Lee and Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center on the campus of the University of Texas is set to host this year’s NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships.

TCU junior swimmer Cooper Robinson earned his first-ever bid to the NCAA Swimming Championships. Robinson, the 2013 Big 12 Conference Champion in the 200 back, is the first TCU swimmer since 2012 to take the national stage.

Texas qualified 16 swimmers and four divers to compete at this week's event. Senior Patrick Murphy will make his third NCAA apperance. Murphy ranks 17th nationally in the 200-yard backstroke at 1:41.35. Senior caleb Weir will make his second NCAA Championship appearance in as many seasons. Led by former national champions Kip Darmody and Clay Youngquist, six juniors will compete in the national meet. Youngquist qualified with the nation's 11th-fastest time in the 500 freestyle (4:15.68) and the 200 butterfly (1:43.39).

The Longhorns will send five sophomores to the event, including two-time NCAA qualifier Sam Lewis, who ranks 15th nationally in both the 500 freestyle (4:16.06) and the 1,650 freestyle (14:55.44). Matt Ellis, Imri Ganiel, Aaron Gustafson and John Murray also will make their first individual appearances for the Longhorns. Three Texas freshmen also qualified, Jack Conger, Will Glass and Will Licon.

Divers Michael Hixon and Will Chandler earned their berths to the NCAA Championships on March 10 at the NCAA Zone "D" Diving Meet. Cory Bowersox qualified on March 11, and on the final day of the meet, freshman diver Mark Anderson qualified by winning the platform event with 840.6 points.

The West Virginia men’s swimming team will send six total swimmers to Austin. Junior Tim Squires will be competing in the 50 free and 100 free for the squad while Senior Bryce Bohman will be competing in the 100 back and 200 back. Senior Bryce Bohman will be competing in the 100 back and 200 back. All five of the WVU relay teams were also invited. Joining Squires and Bohman for the relays will be juniors Chris Brill and Julien Vialette, sophomore Ross Glegg and freshman Nate Carr.

All-session tickets for the NCAA Men’s Swimming and Diving Championships at the Lee & Joe Jamail Texas Swimming Center are on sale. Tickets can be purchased online or by phone at 512-471-3333. All seats are reserved and are $75 each. If available, single-session tickets will go on sale at 9 a.m. Monday, March 24. The Friday and Saturday finals sessions of the Championships will be streamed live on ESPN3.

Cooper Robinson, TCU
Jack Conger, Texas
Tripp Cooper, Texas
Kip Darmody, Texas
Matt Ellis, Texas
Imri Ganiel, Texas
Will Glass, Texas
Aaron Gustafson, Texas
Sam Lewis, Texas
Will Licon, Texas
Nicolas Munoz, Texas
Keith Murphy, Texas
Patrick Murphy, Texas
John Murray, Texas
Jacob Ritter, Texas
Caleb Weir, Texas
Clay Youngquist, Texas
Bryce Bohman, West Virginia
Chris Brill, West Virginia
Nate Carr, West Virginia
Ross Glegg, West Virginia
Tim Squires, West Virginia
Julien Vialette, West Virginia

Mark Anderson, Texas
Cory Bowersox, Texas
Will Chandler, Texas
Michael Hixon, Texas

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More