Print RSS
Big 12 Women’s Swimmers, Divers Set to Compete at NCAAs
March 14, 2012


Three Big 12 schools will be represented by 36 student-athletes at the 2012 NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships, which begin Thursday and run through Saturday in Auburn, Ala.

The Texas women lead the way with a total of 15 athletes scheduled to make an NCAA appearance. The Longhorns have 13 swimmers and two divers qualified for the three-day event. Big 12 champion, Texas A&M, will take a contingent of 10 swimmers and three divers to the NCAA meet, while Missouri will be represented by six swimmers and two divers.

The Longhorns and Aggies are two of only 12 teams in the country to send 10 or more swimmers to take part in the Championships.

For Texas, senior Karlee Bispo returns to the NCAA Championships for the fourth consecutive year in her college career. She qualified to swim the 200 freestyle relay, the 200 individual medley, the 400 medley relay, 200 freestyle, 800 freestyle relay, 100 freestyle, and 400 freestyle relay. Bispo has the second fastest time in the nation this season in the 200 free with a 1:43.53 and the fifth fastest in the 100 free (47.92).

For Texas A&M, Breeja Larson and Paige Miller led the Aggies with invitations to four events at the 2012 Championships. Larson was invited in the 100- and 200-yard breaststrokes and both medley relays, while Miller qualified in the 100 back and the 100 fly and both medley relays.

For Missouri, Shara Stafford, the 2012 Big 12 Champion in the 100 and 200 free, qualified for a team-high three individual races, the 50, 100 and 200 frees. The senior posted top-10 national times in all three events this season: sixth-best time in the 100 free, eighth-best time in the 200 free and ninth-best time in the 50 free.

In its history, the Big 12 has had 14 individual NCAA champions with the last coming in 2010 as Texas A&M swimmers Julia Wilkinson and Alia Atkinson claimed the top spot in the 100-yard freestyle and 200-yard breaststroke, respectively.

All six sessions of the 2012 NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championship will be streamed live on the Internet. All three preliminary sessions and the Thursday finals session will stream live on and Finals sessions on Friday and Saturday will be streamed on

Christina Gailey, Missouri
Jordan Morcom, Missouri
Shelby Cullian, Texas
Diana Wilcox, Texas
Jaele Patrick, Texas A&M
Janie Potvin, Texas A&M
Becca St. Germain, Texas A&M

Dominique Bouchard, Missouri
Cassandra Cunningham, Missouri
Emily Doucette, Missouri
Amanda Masters, Missouri
Lisa Nathanson, Missouri
Shara Stafford, Missouri
Bethany Adams, Texas
Kelsey Amundsen, Texas
Karlee Bispo, Texas
Leah Gingrich, Texas
Gretchen Jaques, Texas
Kelsey Leneave, Texas
Ellen Lobb, Texas
Lily Moldenhauer, Texas
Kaitlin Pawlowicz, Texas
Katharine Riefenstahl, Texas
Skylar Smith, Texas
Laura Soger, Texas
Samantha Tucker, Texas
Ashley Adams, Texas A&M
Natalie Adams, Texas A&M
Erica Dittmer, Texas A&M
Breeja Larson, Texas A&M
Caroline McElhany, Texas A&M
Maureen McLaine, Texas A&M
Rita Medrano Munoz, Texas A&M
Paige Miller, Texas A&M
Kim Pavlin, Texas A&M
Tess Simpson, Texas A&M

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More