Print RSS
Big 12 Women’s Swimmers, Divers Set to Compete at NCAAs
March 20, 2013

Two Big 12 schools will be represented by 16 student-athletes at the 2013 NCAA Women’s Swimming and Diving Championships, which begin Thursday, March 21, and run through Saturday, March 23, in Indianapolis.

The Texas women lead the way with 14 total athletes making the trip to IU Natatorium. The Big 12 Champions have 12 swimmers and two divers qualified for the three-day event. West Virginia will be represented by two swimmers.

The Longhorns are one of 13 teams in the country to send 10 or more swimmers to take part in the Championships.

For Texas, senior All-Americans Laura Sogar, Kelsey Amundsen and Bethany Adams will compete at the NCAA Championships for the fourth time in as many years. Sogar is seeded second nationally in the 200-yard breaststroke (2:05.04) and third in the 100 breaststroke (58.32). Sogar will also have the option of competing in the 200 individual medley.

Amundsen is the 25th seed in the 100 butterfly (52.57) and will have the option of competing in the 50 and 100 freestyle events. Adams will go to Indianapolis as a relay alternate.

Texas will take top-12 seeds or better in all five relays. The Longhorns are seeded ninth in the 200 medley (1:36.69), 400 medley (3:31.98) and 400 freestyle relays (3:15.83). UT holds the 11th seed in the 800 freestyle relay (7:01.61) and the 12th seed in the 200 freestyle relay (1:29.14).

West Virginia will be represented by Rachael Burnett and Mandie Nugent. Burnett, a Springfield, Va., native, qualified for the third time in her career, becoming the seventh swimmer in school history to qualify for the NCAAs in at least three season. Nugent becomes one of only four swimmers in WVU history to qualify for the NCAAs in all four seasons.

In diving, Texas’ Maren Taylor makes her third consecutive appearance after winning the three-meter event at the NCAA Zone "D" Diving Meet, while fifth-year senior Shelby Cullinan will make her fourth consecutive NCAA Championships appearance.

In its history, the Big 12 has had 16 individual NCAA champions.

Each day, prelims will begin at 11 a.m. CT with finals starting at 7 p.m. A live video stream will be available during the Friday and Saturday evening sessions at ESPNU will air a tape-delayed telecast on Wednesday, March 27 at 7 p.m. CT.

Shelby Cullinan, Texas
Maren Taylor, Texas

Bethany Adams, Texas
Kelsey Amundsen, Texas
Sarah Denninghoff, Texas
Alex Hooper, Texas
Gretchen Jaques, Texas
Kelsey LeNeave, Texas
Ellen Lobb, Texas
Lily Moldenhauer, Texas
Kaitlin Pawlowicz, Texas
Skylar Smith, Texas
Laura Sogar, Texas
Samantha Tucker, Texas
Rachael Burnett, West Virginia
Mandie Nugent, West Virginia

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More