Print RSS
UT Men Maintain Lead; A&M Women Jump Ahead at Big 12 Championships
February 27, 2009
Championship Central
Video Highlights

COLUMBIA, Mo. - Competition on day three at the 2009 Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships did not dissappoint as as league swimmers and divers went all out at the Mizzou Aquatics Center. Through seven events, six meet and four overall conference records were rewritten.

The Longhorn men tallied 368 points on the day to extend their lead (765), followed by the Texas A&M (534.50) and Missouri (525.50). UT swept all six swimming races, as the 200-yard freestyle relay of Jimmy Feigen, Jonathan Jackson, Benjamin Van Roekel and David Walters (1:16.89) and Bryan Collins’ performance in the 400-yard individual medley (3:44.27) both set meet and overall league records.

Junior Hill Taylor led individually among the men’s field by knotching two gold medals in the 100-yard butterfly (45.57) and 100-yard backstroke (45.65). His time in the backstroke beat out the 12-year-old championship record held by former Texas All-American Neil Walker (46.25, 1997).

The Texas A&M women (582) moved into first place after splitting the swimming events with Texas (580). Missouri tabbed 186 points on the day to hold onto third, followed by Kansas (333), Iowa State (225) and Nebraska (194).

The Aggie women made it onto the podium first after the 200-yard freestyle relay of Maria Sommer, Marissa Jack, Sarah Woods and Triin Aljand set a new meet and conference time (1:28.58), both previously set by A&M a year ago. Freshman Kathleen Hersey (Texas) now owns both all records in the 400-yard individual medley as her time of 4:07.76 set a new meet mark.

A&M senior Eric Sehn dove to his 11th-career Big 12 individual title in the three-meter springboard, setting both the championship and league record with 451.35 points on six dives. His 11 gold medals is the most won by an individual in conference history among swimmers and divers to date. On the women’s side, UT senior Jessica Livingston took her first three-meter diving title, third overall, after scoring 362 points.

The schedule for the final day begins with prelims at 10 a.m., followed by the women’s platform finals at 5 p.m., and swimming events beginning at 6 p.m. Team and individual trophy presentations will begin immediately following the conclusion of the 400-yard freestyle relay.

Men- 1. Texas (765); 2. Texas A&M (534.50); 3. Missouri (525.50)
Women-  1. Texas A&M (582); 2. Texas (580); 3. Missouri (395); 4. Kansas (333); 5. Iowa State (225); 6. Nebraska (194)


200-Yard Freestyle Relay: Texas (Feigen, Jackson, Van Roekel, Walters) - 1:16.89$*^
400-Yard Individual Medley: Bryan Collins (Texas) - 3:44.27$*
100-Yard Butterfly:  Hill Taylor (Texas) - 45.57$
200-Yard Freestyle: David Walters (Texas) - 1:33.01$
100-Yard Breaststroke: Agustin Magruder (Texas) - 53.29
100-Yard Backstroke: Hill Taylor (Texas) - 45.65*
Men’s 3-Meter Diving: Eric Sehn (Texas A&M) - 451.35$*^

200-Yard Freestyle Relay: Texas A&M (Sommer, Jasek, Woods, Aljand) - 1:28.58*^
400-Yard Individual Medley: Kathleen Hersey (Texas) - 4:07.76*
100-Yard Butterfly: Triin Aljand (Texas A&M) - 52.47
200-Yard Freestyle: Karlee Bispo (Texas) - 1:44.21
100-Yard Breaststroke: Carlye Ellis (Texas) - 1:00.74
100-Yard Backstroke: Lindsey King (Texas A&M) - 53.26
Women’s 3-Meter Diving: Jessica Livingston (Texas) - 362.00

$ - NCAA Championships Automatic-Qualifying Time
* - Big 12 Championships Meet Record
^ - Big 12 Conference Overall Record

< Swimming & Diving
Popular on
Load More