Print RSS
2012 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team Announced
May 15, 2012
A total of 60 student-athletes have been named to the 2012 Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team, the Conference announced.

Texas Tech topped the list with a program-best 11 honorees, including seven first team members. TTU had not placed more than 10 members on the team since 1997 and their highest first team total before this year was four (2010, ‘09). Baylor also recorded double-digit selections with 10, while Texas matched a program-best with nine members (1997).

Among those honored, Kolt Browder (Baylor), Andreas Plackis (Missouri) and Rusty Shellhorn (Texas Tech) represented with grade point averages of 4.00.

Browder was one of three student-athletes to become a three-time first team member. Jake Marasco (Kansas) and Ross Stripling (Texas A&M) have also claimed the distinction for three-straight seasons.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services, the Academic All-Big 12 Baseball Team consists of 34 first team members and 26 second team selections. First team members consist of those who have maintained a 3.20 or better GPA, and the second team are those who have a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA.

To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or the two previous semesters and must have participated in 60 percent of their team's scheduled contests. Freshmen and transfers are not eligible in their first year of academic residence. Senior student-athletes who have participated for a minimum of two years and meet all the criteria except percent of participation are also eligible.
< Baseball
Popular on
Load More