Print RSS
Baseball Weekly Notes Package
May 29, 2012
Baseball Release in PDF

Big 12 regular season champion Baylor is ranked as high as No. 2 in a pair of the latest national polls. The Bears rank second on the NCBWA and USA Today/ESPN Coaches' rankings. A&M ranks as high as No. 8, while Oklahoma is No. 23 by Collegiate Baseball.

Four teams have earned berths to the 2012 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship as the 64-team bracket was announced on Monday. Baylor, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas A&M represent the league with the Bears and Aggies serving as Regional host sites. Action begins on Friday, June 1, and will conclude on Monday, June 4 (if necessary). BU claimed the No. 4 national seed overall, which guarantees the Bears a Super Regional host site should they advance.

The Big 12's four selections ties for the fourth-most by one conference in this year's event. Overall, the Big 12 has totaled 87 NCAA appearances and is 166-125 in Regional games. The Big 12 has sent multiple teams to Super Regional action in 10 years since the format was established in 1999. Additionally, the league has sent 15 teams to the College World Series, which is June 15-26 this year.

Missouri claimed its first Big 12 baseball postseason championship with an 8-7 win over Oklahoma last Sunday. With the win, MU makes its first NCAA postseason since 2009. The Tigers appeared in the conference final in 2004, '09 and '11 and had not claimed a conference title since 1980. Head coach Tim Jamieson, who has been in the league since it was established in 1996-97, claimed his 600th win in MU's championship opener vs. Texas on Wednesday. MU will travel to Tucson, Ariz., where they are paired with two ranked teams - No. 11 Arizona and No. 25 Louisville.

In the College Station Regional, Texas A&M (42-16) will meet first-time participant Dayton (31-28) at Blue Bell Park. Mississippi (35-24) and TCU (36-19) complete the College Station Regional. The Aggies have won 14 of their last 18 games and are making a school-record sixth consecutive appearance in the NCAA Tournament.

Oklahoma (38-22) will return to Charlottesville, Va., where the Sooners claimed the Super Regional in 2010 to advance to that year's College World Series.

At the Big 12 Championship, Dillon Overton's seven strikeouts in the finale gave him 15 for the event, which passed Jason Jennings of Baylor (14 in 1999) for the most by an individual in a single tournament. Senior Josh Ludy (Baylor) set a Big 12 Championship record with a slugging percentage of 1.727 in four games.

Now in its 35th consecutive year, USA Baseball announced the names of the 30 semifinalists for the 2012 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award (GSA). Josh Turley (Baylor) and Andrew Heaney (Oklahoma State) join Texas A&M's Tyler Naquin, Ross Stripling and Michael Wacha on the prestigious list. Fans can vote for finalists through Friday, June 1. TAMU is the only school with three semifinalists, while the Big 12's five overall candidates is second-most among all conferences.

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More