Print RSS
2010 Phillips 66 Big 12 Baseball Awards Announced
May 25, 2010
Nick Martini (Kansas State) and Aaron Senne (Missouri) have been named Big 12 Co-Players of the Year, while Cole Green (Texas) has been selected Pitcher of the Year to headline the 2010 Phillips 66 All-Big 12 Baseball Awards, announced by the Conference office. Texas A&M’s John Stilson and Texas Tech’s Barrett Barnes are the Newcomer and Freshman of the Year, respectively. Augie Garrido has been tabbed the Big 12 Coach of the Year for the fifth time in league history.

The official All-Big 12 awards are selected by the league’s head coaches, who are not allowed to vote for their own players.

This marks the first time for a Kansas State or Missouri student-athlete to be recognized as player of the year. Martini and Senne are the first to share the honor since 2006 (Tyler Mach, Oklahoma State and Drew Stubbs, Texas).

Martini paces the Big 12 in overall batting average on the season (.420) while compiling a .433 mark in conference play, which ranked second. The Crystal Lake, Ill.-outfielder has helped Kansas State maintain the Conference’s best hitting percentage (.324) in all games in 2010. He also led the league in on-base percentage (.540) in Big 12 action. Martini tied for third for the most hits and walks with 42 and 22, respectively, against Conference opponents. He also produced the league’s longest hitting streak (26 games) during the regular season.

Senne finished behind Martini in the batting race for overall average, recording a .410 mark through games of May 25. In Big 12 contests, he tallied a league-leading 70 total bases and .686 slugging percentage. Senne, a Rochester, Minn.-native, also is in first-place for overall slugging percentage (.755). In all games played, Senne ranks second in the following statistical categories in the Big 12 home runs (16), doubles (21), on-base percentage (.502) and total bases (151). He broke the school record for career doubles and became Mizzou’s all-time hits leader this season.

Green has posted a perfect 10-0 record in 2010, including a 6-0 mark in Big 12 play. The Coppell, Texas-hurler’s 10 victories rank fourth in the nation. Green maintained a 1.46 ERA in a league-best 68 innings when facing Conference opponents. He also was selected the Phillips 66 Big 12 Pitcher of the Week three times (March 1, April 19 and 26), a Big 12 high this season. In addition, Green was tabbed the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association National Pitcher of the Week on April 20.

In his first season in the Big 12 Conference, Stilson has tallied a 0.98 overall ERA and 1.17 mark in league games, which ranks second amongst the league’s pitchers. Stilson, a transfer from Texarkana College, also paces the Conference in overall opponent batting average, holding teams to .172. He has amassed the nation’s second-best strikeout and hits allowed per nine innings averages through last Sunday’s games.

During Barnes’ rookie campaign, he led the Big 12 in runs scored in league contests with 34 (1.26 per game). Barnes also had 69 total bases (second) and seven home runs (fourth) in Conference action to rank amongst the leaders. The Sugarland, Texas-infielder finished Big 12 play with a .352 batting average, the highest mark by a freshman in the league this season. Barnes was also the only freshman to be named Big 12 Player of the Week this season.

Garrido guided the Longhorns to their sixth Big 12 regular season title (2002, ‘04, ‘06-07 and ‘09). They have won four of the last five crowns. UT posted a 24-3 record (.889), setting a Big 12 record for most conference victories in a season. Garrido’s squad also established the mark for consecutive league wins (17) in 2010. For the fifth straight week, UT is ranked No. 1 in the nation. The Longhorns top the Collegiate Baseball, NCBWA and USA Today/ESPN Coaches’ polls, while receiving a No. 2 ranking from Baseball America. Garrido is the all-time winningest active Division I head coach with 1,764 victories.

The All-Big 12 First, Second and Honorable Mention teams were also announced.

Co-Players of the Year: Nick Martini, Kansas State, OF, So.; Aaron Senne, Missouri, INF, Sr.
Pitcher of the Year: Cole Green, Texas, RHP, Jr.
Freshman of the Year: Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech, INF
Newcomer of the Year: John Stilson, Texas A&M, RHP, So.
Coach of the Year: Augie Garrido, Texas

Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Robby Price, Kansas INF Sr. Lawrence, Kan./Free State
Carter Jurica, Kansas State INF Jr. Katy, Texas/Katy
Adam Muenster, Kansas State INF Sr. Omaha, Neb./Millard North
Aaron Senne, Missouri INF Sr. Rochester, Minn./Mayo
Garrett Buechele, Oklahoma INF So. Arlington, Texas/Lamar
Cameron Rupp, Texas C Jr. Plano, Texas/Prestonwood Christian Academy
Brian Heere, Kansas OF Jr. Lawrence, Kan./Lawrence
Nick Martini, Kansas State OF So. Crystal Lake, Ill./Prairie Ridge
Adam Bailey, Nebraska OF Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz./South Mountain CC
Russell Moldenhauer, Texas DH Sr. Boerne, Texas/Boerne
Brooks Pinckard, Baylor UTL So. Buda, Texas/Hays
Brett Nicholas, Missouri UTL Jr. Phoenix, Ariz./Scottsdale CC
Cole Green, Texas SP Jr. Coppell, Texas/ Coppell
Brandon Workman, Texas SP Jr. Bowie, Texas/Bowie
Barret Loux, Texas A&M SP Jr. Houston, Texas/Stratford
Chance Ruffin, Texas RP Jr. Austin, Texas/Lake Travis
John Stilson, Texas A&M RP So. Texarkana, Texas/Texarkana College
Name, School Pos. Cl. Hometown/Previous School
Davis Duren, Oklahoma State INF Jr. Tulsa, Okla./Union
Brandon Loy, Texas INF So. Rowlett, Texas/Rowlett
Tant Shepherd, Texas INF Jr. Flowermound, Texas/Flowermound
Brodie Greene, Texas A&M INF Sr. Bullard, Texas/Bullard
Barrett Barnes, Texas Tech INF Fr. Sugarland, Texas/Fort Bend Austin
Kevin Gonzalez, Texas A&M C Jr. Houston, Texas/Mayde Creek
Logan Vick, Baylor OF Fr. Kerrville, Texas/Tivy
DJ Belfonte, Nebraska OF Sr. Kansas City, Mo./Rockhurst
Kevin Keyes, Texas OF Jr. Austin, Texas/Connally
Scott LeJeune, Texas Tech DH So. Austin, Texas/McNeil
Jack Mayfield, Oklahoma UTL Fr. Del Rio, Texas/Del Rio
Matt Juengel, Texas A&M UTL So. Friendswood, Texas/Panola College
Logan Verrett, Baylor SP So. Corpus Christi, Texas/Calallen
Zach Neal, Oklahoma SP Jr. Flowermound, Texas/Howard College
Taylor Jungmann, Texas SP So. Temple, Texas/Georgetown
Evan Marshall, Kansas State RP So. Sunnyvale, Calif./Homestead
Chad Bettis, Texas Tech RP Jr. Lubbock, Texas/Monterey

Baylor: Raynor Campbell, INF, Sr.; Gregg Glime, C, Sr.; Joey Hainsfurther, INF, So.; Willie Kempf, RP, Sr.; Shawn Tolleson, SP, Jr.
Kansas: Cameron Selik, SP, Sr.; Tony Thompson, INF, Jr.; T.J. Walz, SP, Jr.; Jimmy Waters, OF, Jr.
Kansas State: Daniel Dellasega, C, Sr.; Kyle Hunter, SP, So.
Missouri: Michael Liberto, INF, Sr.
Nebraska: Cody Asche, INF, So.; Kale Kiser, DH, So.
Oklahoma: Ross Hubbard, DH, Sr.; Cameron Seitzer, INF, So.; Max White, OF, Fr.
Oklahoma State: Kevin David, C, Jr.
Texas: Connor Rowe, OF, Jr.; Cohl Walla, OF, Fr.
Texas A&M: Joe Patterson, DH, Sr.; Michael Wacha, RP, Fr.
Texas Tech: Bobby Doran, SP, Jr.; Joey Kenworthy, INF, Sr.; Jamodrick McGruder, INF, Fr.; Jeremy Mayo, C, Jr.; Michael Reed, OF, Sr.
< Baseball
Popular on
Load More