Print RSS
ITA Recognizes 13 From Big 12 With Regional Awards
May 15, 2013

Eleven Big 12 tennis student-athletes and two league coaches have garnered regional honors from the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) for the 2013 season.

Three conference freshmen were awarded with Rookie of the Year accolades. On the men’s side, Big 12 co-Freshmen of the Year Julian Lenz (Baylor) and Axel Alvarez Llamas (Oklahoma) won for the Texas and Central regional honors, respectively. Texas’ Breaunna Addison, unanimous Big 12 Freshman of the Year, claimed the honor in the women’s Texas region.

The ITA named Costin Paval (Oklahoma) and Daniel Whitehead (Texas) as Seniors of the Year, while Ema Burgic (Baylor) and Petra Niedermayerova were honored as Players to Watch.

On the coaching front, TCU men’s Assistant Coach Mark Tjia and Texas Tech women’s Assistant Coach Todd Chapman nabbed Assistant Coach of the Year accolades. Tjia finished up his third season with the Horned Frogs, his alma mater, while Chapman has been with Tech for four seasons.

The league picked up three sportsmanship honors. TCU’s Orlando Superlano and Oklahoma State senior Malike Rose both tallied the Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award. Longhorn Aeriel Ellis, a winner of the Arthur Ashe award last season, took home the Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship.

2013 NCAA Division I Men’s ITA Regional Awards
Central Region
Senior of the Year: Costin Paval, Oklahoma
Rookie of the Year: Axel Alvarez Llamas, Oklahoma

Texas Region
Assistant Coach of the Year: Mark Tjia, TCU
Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award: Orlando Superlano, TCU
Senior of the Year: Daniel Whitehead, Texas
Rookie of the Year: Julian Lenz, Baylor 

2013 NCAA Division I Women’s ITA Regional Awards
Central Region
Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award: Malika Rose, Oklahoma State
Player to Watch: Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State

Texas Region
Assistant Coach of the Year: Todd Chapman, Texas Tech
Arthur Ashe Leadership & Sportsmanship Award: Aeriel Ellis, Texas
Player to Watch: Ema Burgic, Baylor
Rookie of the Year: Breaunna Addison, Texas
Cissie Leary Award for Sportsmanship: Jordaan Sanford, Baylor

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More