Print RSS
Oklahoma Earns Seventh Regular Season Big 12 Softball Title
May 10, 2014

With a 5-4 victory over Oklahoma State Saturday afternoon, the Oklahoma Sooners have claimed the 2014 Big 12 softball title outright. It is Oklahoma’s seventh regular season championship.

The title marks a third-consecutive league championship for OU, becoming the first time in Big 12 history a team has earned three-straight crowns.

Head coach Patty Gasso has led the Sooners to 11 overall Big 12 crowns, including four postseason titles (1996, 2001, ‘07, ‘10). She is the league’s winningest coach with 1,133 victories in her career, 972 recorded at OU. During her tenure at Oklahoma, Gasso has led the Sooners to 21 consecutive 40-win seasons and seven Women’s College World Series appearances, including the national title in 2013.

The 11 total crowns are the most in league history. With the title-clenching victory, OU moved to 44-10 on the year and 15-2 in conference play.

OU wraps up the season tomorrow at 2 p.m. against Oklahoma State in Norman, Oklahoma. The Sooners will aim to end the regular season on a 12-game winning streak.

The league’s teams will learn their postseason fate on Sunday, May 11, in the NCAA Division I Softball Selection Show at 9 p.m. CT on ESPNU. Regional competition will take place May 15-18.

< Baseball
Popular on
Load More