Print RSS
Cyclones & Longhorns Advance to NCAA Regional Semifinals
December 09, 2011
Iowa State and Texas have advanced to the NCAA Volleyball Championship Regional Finals, securing 3-1 wins on Friday night. This marks the sixth time in the past seven years the Big 12 has advanced two or more teams to Regional Final matches.

If USC loses to Hawaii tonight, the Big 12 will be the only league to advance two teams to the Elite Eight. The Conference is now 9-5 in the 2011 postseason.

The Longhorns (25-4) defeated Kentucky (28-6) and will meet No. 9 national seed UCLA (27-6) on Saturday at 3:30 p.m. CT. The Cyclones (25-5) handed Minnesota (20-11) a 3-1 loss, advancing to play No. 12 national seed Florida State (27-6) on Saturday at 8:30 p.m. Both matches will be available on ESPNU.

Kansas State fell to Pepperdine (25-6), 3-0, in Honolulu. The Wildcats, who were picked to finish eighth in the preseason poll, conclude 2011 with a 22-11 season.

This is the sixth year in a row UT has advanced to the Regional Finals, while Iowa State is making its first appearance since 2008.

The Longhorns are the only team in the NCAA to qualify for each of the last six Regional finals. Texas is vying for their school-record fourth consecutive trip to the National Semifinals. The Longhorns advance to their 17th NCAA Regional Championship match. Texas earned its 65th NCAA Championship victory and improved its all-time tourney mark to 65-26. The Longhorns rank sixth in NCAA history in all-time postseason wins.

Sophomore outside hitter Bailey Webster headlined the Horns' attack and equaled a career-high with her match-leading 17 kills. National freshman of the year candidate Haley Eckerman added 16 kills in the win, while senior All-America middle blocker Rachael Adams hammered out 15 kills on .367 hitting.

Iowa State was led by Carly Jenson, who hit .300 with 19 kills and 12 digs. Victoria Hurtt chipped in 15 kills, while Kristen Hahn posted a match-high 19 digs. Allison Landwehr recorded 43 assists. Iowa State improved 12-7 in NCAA postseason play.

The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by UT-San Antonio and San Antonio Sports at the Alamodome in San Antonio, Texas, on Dec. 15 and 17. Both national semifinal games as well as the championship game will be telecast by ESPN2.

Saturday, Dec. 10
No. 1 Texas vs. No. 9 UCLA, 3:30 p.m. - Lexington, Ky.
No. 4 Iowa State vs. No. 12 Florida State, 8:30 p.m. - Minneapolis, Minn.

Friday, Dec. 9
No. 4 Iowa State 3, Minnesota 1
No. 1 Texas 3, Kentucky 1
No. 15 Pepperdine 3, Kansas State 0

Friday, Dec. 2
Kentucky 3, No. 16 Texas A&M 0
Kansas State 3, No. 2 Nebraska 2

Saturday, Dec. 3
No. 1 Texas 3, Michigan State 1
No. 4 Iowa State 3, Miami (Fla.) 0

Thursday, Dec. 1
Kansas State 3, Wichita State 0
No. 16 Texas A&M 3, Lipscomb 1

Friday, Dec. 2
No. 1 Texas 3, Texas State 0
No. 4 Iowa State 3, Milwaukee 0
Florida 3, Missouri 1
Michigan 3, Baylor 1
Tulsa 3, Oklahoma 1

Times are listed in CST.

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More