Print RSS
Six Big 12 Volleyball Teams Earn 2009 NCAA Championship Bids
November 29, 2009

Texas, the Big 12 champion, headlines the Conference's six selections, as the Longhorns have been named the No. 2 national seed of the 2009 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship field.

Iowa State and Nebraska also were tabbed the No. 7 and 10 seeds, respectively. Baylor, Oklahoma and Texas A&M earned at-large berths. 

The Big 12 is tied with the Big Ten for the second-most teams in the field while the Pacific-10 led all leagues with eight squads chosen.

Overall, the Big 12 has earned 85 NCAA Volleyball Championship bids in 14 years, highlighted by the Huskers' national titles in 2000 and '06.

Pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first- and second-rounds.  In addition, the top 16 squads were seeded nationally and placed within four regions.

Teams winning both first- and second-round matches will move on to regional play on Dec. 11-12 at the following pre-determined regional sites: Gainesville, Fla.; Stanford, Calif.; Minneapolis, Minn.; and Omaha, Neb.  The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the University of South Florida and Tampa Bay Sports Commission at the St. Pete Times Forum in Tampa, Florida, on December 17 and 19.

DEC. 3 
Texas State at No. 2 Texas, 6 p.m.
(Austin, Texas)

DEC. 4
Arizona vs. Texas A&M, 5 p.m.
(Baton Rouge, La.)

Coastal Carolina at No. 10 Nebraska, 7 p.m.
(Lincoln, Neb.)

George Mason at No. 7 Iowa State, 7:30 p.m.
(Ames, Iowa)

DEC. 4
at USC, 7 p.m.
(Los Angeles, Calif.)

DEC. 4
Georgia Tech vs. Baylor, 7:30 p.m.
(Los Angeles, Calif.)

All times listed are CST.



< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More