Print RSS
Five Big 12 Squads Selected For NCAA Volleyball Championship Field
November 28, 2010

Nebraska, the Big 12 champion, highlights the Conference's five bids. The Huskers have earned the No. 2 national seed in the 2010 NCAA Division I Volleyball Championship field.

Texas, which will host the Austin Regional, has been tabbed the ninth seed. Iowa State, Missouri and Oklahoma have received at-large berths. 

Overall, the Big 12 has earned 90 NCAA Volleyball Championship bids in 15 years, including the Huskers' national titles in 2000 and '06.

Pairings were determined by geographical proximity, with the exception that teams from the same conference were not paired during the first- and second-rounds.  In addition, the top 16 squads were seeded nationally and placed within four regions.

First- and second-round matches will be played at 16 campus sites -- NU, OU, and UT will host on opening weekend.  Teams winning both matches will move on to regional play on Dec. 10 and 11. The pre-determined regional sites are Austin, Texas; University Park, Pa.; Dayton, Ohio; and Seattle, Wash. The regional winners will advance to the semifinals and final hosted by the University of Missouri, Kansas City and the Kansas City Sports Commission at Sprint Center in Kansas City, Mo., on Dec. 16 and 18.

DEC. 2
Sacred Heart at No. 2 Seed Nebraska, 7:00 p.m.
(Seattle Regional - Lincoln, Neb.)

DEC. 3 
Iowa State
vs. Creighton, 4:30 p.m. 
(Seattle Regional - Minneapolis, Minn.)

UTSA at No. 9 Seed Texas, 6:30 p.m.
(Austin Regional - Austin, Texas)

Wichita State at Oklahoma, 7:30 p.m.
(University Park [Pa.] Regional - Norman, Okla.)

Missouri at No. 5 Seed UNI, 8:00 p.m.
(University Park [Pa.] Regional - Cedar Falls, Iowa)  

Times are listed in CST.

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More