Print RSS
Volleyball Weekly Notes Package
December 10, 2013
Volleyball Notes in PDF


Friday, Dec. 13
No. 1 Texas vs. American, 5:00 p.m. - Lincoln, Neb. [ESPN3]
No. 14 Kansas vs. No. 3 Washington, 7:00 p.m. - Los Angeles [ESPN3]

Saturday, Dec. 14*
No. 1 Texas vs./at San Diego/No. 7 Nebraska, 8:00 p.m. - Lincoln, Neb. [ESPNU]
No. 14 Kansas vs./at BYU/No. 6 Southern California, 10:30 p.m. - Los Angeles [ESPNU]

All times Central; *Regional final information

• Texas and Kansas represent the Big 12 in the NCAA Championship Sweet 16 field, marking the 11th straight year the league has sent multiple teams to the regional semifinals. Two or more teams have made the field of 16 every year since 2003. The conference has had multiple teams all but one year with 47 appearances overall and is one of three conferences with two or more representatives in the 2013 field.
• The Longhorns defeated Texas State and Texas A&M en route to their eighth straight regional berth - the longest active streak in Division I. UT has won seven consecutive regional semifinal matches since 2006 and is 18-6 (.750) overall in Sweet 16 contests.
• The Jayhawks punched their program’s first-ever ticket to the Sweet 16 field with wins over Wichita State and Creighton in Lawrence last weekend. KU is making just its fifth NCAA postseason appearance overall.
• Texas travels to Lincoln, Neb., to face American. With a win, the Longhorns advance to play either San Diego or No. 7 seed and host Nebraska.
• Texas enters the regional with a 21-match win streak. When UT takes the court Friday evening against American, it will mark 91 days since UT was last defeated (Sept. 13).
• Kansas will take on fifth-ranked and third-seeded Washington in Los Angeles with a potential regional final matchup with BYU or sixth-seeded Southern California.
• The Big 12 improved to 169-101 in NCAA play after last weekend’s opening round results. The league is 25-20 in regional semifinal matches with a team advancing to the regional final field in every year of the conference’s history except one. The league has recorded at least ten wins in postseason play in six of the last seven years.
• Texas and Kansas are two of 10 national seeds still alive in the postseason tournament. Texas earned the No. 1 overall seed, while Kansas is the 14th seed.
• Iowa State and Oklahoma also earned NCAA Championship berths. Oklahoma advanced to the second round with a win over Alabama before losing to third-seeded Stanford. Iowa State dropped its opening round match against Colorado in Minneapolis.
• The 2013 Big 12 postseason awards include: Haley Eckerman, Texas (Player of the Year), Kristen Hahn, Iowa State (Libero of the Year), Erin McNorton, Kansas (Setter of the Year), Chiaka Ogbogu, Texas (Freshman of the Year), and Ray Bechard, Kansas (Coach of the Year).
< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More