Print RSS
OSU Equestrian Wins Second-Straight Big 12 Title
March 30, 2013

RESULTS   |   Photos

STILLWATER, Okla. -- Down by one point with three riders left in the reining discipline, the Oklahoma State equestrian team rallied, sweeping the last three rides, to defeat Kansas State, 8-6, and claim the Cowgirls' second consecutive Big 12 Championship and third overall.

As was the theme throughout the Conference season, the match was about as close as it could get. The Cowgirls won in equitation over fences, 2-1, but the Wildcats came back to win horsemanship, 2-1, and tie the overall score at 3-3. The teams were still tied after equitation on the flat, and took their 5-5 score to reining. Kansas State won the first ride to take a 6-5 lead, but OSU won the next two rides. Kansas State needed a 135.5 on its final ride to send the match to a tiebreak, but fell half a point short with a 135.

"I kept preaching to our girls, telling them to continue doing what they've been doing all year," OSU Coach Larry Sanchez said. "I wanted them to keep focus and not change a thing. Kansas State is a very good team. They were polished and ready to ride this weekend. We were fortunate to come away with the victory, because they rode really well."

In the third place match, Baylor took an early 2-1 lead, and though the Bears never led by more than one point after each discipline, TCU was never able to get over the hump, and Baylor held on for an 8-7 victory.

Following the competition, the All-Big 12 team and regular season award winners were announced. For their efforts during the championship, three riders were honored by the judges as Most Outstanding Performers. The MOP award winners were Baylor’s Samantha Schaefer (Equitation over Fences), Oklahoma State’s Samantha Harrison (Equitation on the Flat) and OSU’s Katy Krshka (Horsemanship and Reining).

Next up, the teams will head to the NCEA National Championships in Waco, Texas, April 17-20.

Most Outstanding Performers
Equitation over Fences: Samantha Schaefer, Baylor
Equitation on the Flat: Samantha Harrison, Oklahoma State
Horsemanship: Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State
Reining: Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State

All Big-12 Team
Equitation Over Fences
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, So.
Rachel Webster, Kansas State, Jr.
Samantha Harrison, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Allison Joyce, Oklahoma State, So.

Equitation on the Flat
Taylor Brown, Baylor, Sr.
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, So.
Meredith Finch, Kansas State, Sr.
Allison Joyce, Oklahoma State, So.
Demi Stiegler, TCU, So.

Bryn Lindley, Baylor, Jr.
Lauren Halvorson, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, So.
Lindsey McMullen, Oklahoma State, So.
Alexie Estrada, TCU, Sr.

Jenna Blumer, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, So.
Alexi Child, TCU, So.
Kolby Simonson, TCU, Sr.

Fences Rider of the Year
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, So.

Flat Rider of the Year
Demi Stiegler, TCU, So.

Co-Horsemanship Riders of the Year
Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, So.
Alexie Estrada, TCU, Sr.

Reining Rider of the Year
Jenna Blumer, Oklahoma State, Jr.

Co-Scholar-Athletes of the Year
Jenna Blumer, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Haley Jacobi, TCU, Sr.

Coach of the Year
Larry Sanchez, Oklahoma State

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More