2018 Baseball Championship - Game 3 Press Conference
Print RSS
Oklahoma State Claims Third-Consecutive Big 12 Equestrian Title
March 29, 2014


WACO, Texas – For the third year in a row the Oklahoma State Cowgirls claimed the title of Big 12 Equestrian Champions.

The Cowgirls opened the day with a 4-1 victory in horsemanship and narrowly escaped the fences event with a 3-2 point advantage. The Bears made a move in equitation on the flat, sweeping the event 5-0. With the championship on the line, it all came down to reining. After several official reviews, Oklahoma State claimed reining 3-1.

"We've recruited such a great group of girls and as coaches we are fortunate to be able to work with them. They work hard and they give us everything that they have. They've really bonded and are a true team, I think that's what makes them successful," Oklahoma State Coach Larry Sanchez said. "The Big 12 is so strong in the sport of equestrian. We never know how things are going to turn out just because the competition is such a high level."

In the competition for third place between TCU and K-State, TCU took a 4-1 advantage after fences, but the Wildcats answered with a 4-1 victory in horsemanship. After the morning's events, the two teams were tied at five points each. K-State picked up eight points in the afternoon's flat and reining competition to win 13-6-1.

Following Saturday's event, the All-Big 12 team and regular season award winners were announced. Four riders were recognized for their performances during the 2014 Big 12 Championship with Most Outstanding Performer awards. The MOP winners, as selected by the meet's judges, were Oklahoma State's Samantha Schaefer (fences), Baylor's Alicia Gasser (flat), TCU's Rylee Morgan (horsemanship) and Oklahoma State's Katy Krshka (reining).

The league's squads will return to Waco for the NCEA National Championships, April 17-19. The event will be held at Extraco Events Center.

Most Outstanding Performers

Equitation over Fences: Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, Jr.
Equitation on the Flat: Alicia Gasser, Baylor, Fr.
Horsemanship: Rylee Morgan, TCU, Fr.
Reining: Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, Jr.

All Big-12 Team
Equitation Over Fences
Samantha Harrison, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Caitlin Ader, TCU, Sr.
Rachel Webster, Kansas State, Sr.
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, Jr.
Alexis Graves, Kansas State, Fr.
Paige Parker, Baylor, So.

Equitation on the Flat
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, Jr.
Henley Adkins, Kansas State, Fr.
Samantha Harrison, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Rachel Webster, Kansas State, Sr.
Caitlin Ader, TCU, Sr.
Jorden Davis, Oklahoma State, Fr.

Kelly Bovaird, Kansas State, Sr.
Katy Krshka, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Lindsey McMullen, Oklahoma State, Jr.
Bryn Lindley, Baylor, Sr.

Kara Guy, Kansas State, So.
Jenna Blumer, Oklahoma State, Sr.
Katherine Berg, Baylor, Sr.
Chantz Stewart, TCU, So.

Fences Rider of the Year
Samantha Schaefer, Baylor, Jr.

Flat Rider of the Year
Rachel Webster, Kansas State, Sr.

Horsemanship Rider of the Year
Bryn Lindley, Baylor, Sr.

Reining Rider of the Year
Jenna Blumer, Oklahoma State, Sr.

Coach of the Year
Haley Schoolfield, TCU
< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More