Print RSS
Texas Takes Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships
March 01, 2009
Highlight Video
Championship Central

COLUMBIA, Mo. - The Texas men’s and women’s squads walked away with both team titles at the 2009 Big 12 Swimming and Diving Championships at the Mizzou Aquatics Center in Columbia. The Longhorn men have won all 13 conference championships to date, while the women earned their ninth title and first since 2006.

Thirty-four meet and overall conference records were broken during the four-day event. Of these, Texas was responsible for 21 of the 23 league championship meet records set, with Texas A&M contributing the other two.

MU head coach Brian Hoffer was voted as the men’s and co-women’s Swimming Coach of the Meet. Hoffer led his men’s team to a second place finish over A&M, the highest finish for the Tigers in conference history. On the women’s side, Kayla Durnil became just the third Missouri swimmer to win gold at the conference championship when she swam to her first career accolade with a time of 2:11.20 in the 200-yard breaststroke.

Texas women’s coach Kim Brackin was also selected to receive her first women’s coaching honor at a Big 12 Championship. Her swimming squad tabbed nine meet and four conference records overall at the event. Brackins helped guide freshman Kathleen Hersey, who earned Newcomer and Swimmer of the Meet honors.

Freshman Jimmy Feigen knotched Newcomer of the Meet, becoming the 12th Longhorn freshman to do so. Meanwhile, junior Hill Taylor was chosen to receive his first Swimmer of the Meet honor after his top finishes in two events individually and contributed to two winning relays.

The sibling duo of Jessica and Drew Livingston (Texas) both earned Big 12 Diver of the Meet honors after setting league and championship records on the platform. Senior Jessica Livingston won her third title in the event with a score of 360.80, while freshman Drew Livingston earned his first diving title after producing a score of 542.95. UT dive coach Matt Scoggin garnered his fourth-straight, ninth overall, women’s Dive Coach of the Meet award, while Texas A&M’s coach Kevin Wright received his seventh honor on the men’s side.

In the final race of the day, over 1,300 fans witnessed the UT men’s 400-yard freestyle relay of David Walters, Benjamin Van Roekel, Jimmy Feigen and Ryan Verlatti  make history. The relay broke the American, conference and meet record after clocking a time of 2:49.17. The record was previously held by the relay of Nate Dusing, Ian Crocker, Tom Hannan and Jamie Rauch, which was set in 2001.

1. Texas (1,114); 2. Missouri (810.5); 3. Texas A&M (797.5)
Women-  1. Texas (893); 2. Texas A&M (831); 3. Missouri (582); 4. Kansas (493); 5. Iowa State (332); 6. Nebraska (298)
Attendance: 1,328


Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet: Hill Taylor, Texas, Jr.
Outstanding Divers of the Meet: Drew Livingston, Texas, Fr. and Eric Sehn, Texas A&M, Sr.
Outstanding Newcomer of the Meet: Jimmy Feigen, Texas, Fr.
Swim Coach of the Meet: Brian Hoffer, Missouri
Dive Coach of the Meet: Kevin Wright, Texas A&M

Outstanding Swimmer of the Meet: Kathleen Hersey, Texas, Fr.
Outstanding Diver of the Meet: Jessica Livingston, Texas, Sr.
Outstanding Newcomer of the Meet: Kathleen Hersey, Texas, Fr.
Co-Swim Coaches of the Meet: Kim Brackin, Texas and Brian Hoffer, Missouri
Dive Coach of the Meet: Matt Scoggin, Texas


200-Yard Backstroke: Sean Patton (Texas) - 1:41.99
100-Yard Freestyle: Jimmy Feigen (Texas) - 42.43*
1650-Yard Freestyle: Jackson Wilcox (Texas) - 14:41.85$*
200-Yard Breaststroke: Agustin Magruder (Texas) - 1:54.41*
200-Yard Butterfly: Ricky Berens (Texas) - 1:43.28*
Platform Diving: Drew Livingston (Texas) - 542.95*^
400-Yard Freestyle Relay: Texas (Dave Walters, Benjamin Van Roekel, Jimmy Feigen, Ryan Verlatti) - 2:49.17$!*^

Platform Diving: Jessica Livingston (Texas) - 360.80*^
200-Yard Backstroke: Kathleen Hersey (Texas) - 1:52.58$*^
100-Yard Freestyle: Karlee Bispo (Texas) - 48.03
1650-Yard Freestyle: Susana Escobar (Texas) - 16:13.53
200-Yard Breaststroke:  Kayla Durnil (Missouri) - 2:11.20
200-Yard Butterfly: Leah Gingrich (Texas) - 1:55.18*
400-Yard Freestyle Relay: Texas (Karlee Bispo, Hee-Jin Chang, Katie Riefenstahl, Kathleen Hersey) - 3:13.62

$ - NCAA Championships Automatic-Qualifying Time
! - American Record
* - Big 12 Championships Meet Record
^ - Big 12 Conference Overall Record
- Big12 -

< Volleyball
Popular on
Load More