Five Menís Basketball Players Named To Cousy Award Watch List
          Release: 12/20/2012
Send this article to a friend Print RSS
Five Big 12 men's basketball standouts are among the watch list of candidates that has been released for the 2013 Bob Cousy Award. The annual honor, presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and named for Hall of Famer and former Boston Celtic Bob Cousy, recognizes college basketball's top point guard.

This original list of candidates will be narrowed down to a final 20 by Jan. 1, final 10 by Feb. 1 and final five by March 1. A Hall of Fame-appointed screening committee will be narrowing down the candidates, while a premier selection committee will ultimately choose the winner.

Both of the Hall of Fame committees are made up of top college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, Sports Information Directors and Hall of Famers. The winner of the 2013 Bob Cousy Award will be presented at the Hall of Fame's Class Announcement on Monday, April 8 in Atlanta as part of NCAA Final Four weekend.

Two Big 12 student-athletes have previously won the Bob Cousy Award - D.J. Augustin (Texas) in 2007-08 and Acie Law (Texas A&M) in 2006-07.

For more information on the Bob Cousy Award, log on to

Pierre Jackson, Baylor
Korie Lucious, Iowa State
Elijah Johnson, Kansas
Marcus Smart, Oklahoma State
Kyan Anderson, TCU

< Back to Men's Basketball