Print RSS
Brackets Set for 2013 Tennis Championships
April 21, 2013

Championship Brackets

The Big 12 Conference has announced the pairings for the 2013 Big 12 Tennis Championships held at the Headington Family Tennis Center in Norman, Okla. Women’s action begins on Thursday, April 25 while the men get underway on Friday, April 26. Both Championships conclude on Sunday, April 28.

Baylor earned the top seeds in both brackets for the seventh time overall and first since 2011.

BU’s men’s team, who recorded an overall record of 19-4 went undefeated in conference play with a 5-0 mark, clinching its third regular season title in the last five seasons. The Bears and No. 2 seed Oklahoma will receive first-round byes at this week’s event. The Sooners were the regular season’s second place finisher with a 17-6 overall record and a 4-1 mark in conference play.

Third-seeded Texas will face No. 6 Oklahoma State in the first round while No. 4 TCU will take on Texas Tech, the fifth seed.

The Baylor men will be looking for their eighth postseason Big 12 title after winning in 2002-’05 and 2007-’09. Texas has earned four championship titles (1997, ‘99, ‘06, ‘10), while Oklahoma earned its first postseason crown last season (2012).

On the women’s side, the Lady Bears took down Texas Tech 4-3 Sunday to share the regular season crown with Tech and claim the top seed at the championship. BU finished the regular season with an 8-1 conference record and 15-13 overall mark.

The Lady Raiders secured the No. 2 seed and a first-round bye. Third-seeded Texas will take on host Oklahoma, the sixth seed, while No. 4 TCU will tussle with No. 5 Oklahoma State. In first day action, No. 7 seed Kansas State will face 10th-seeded West Virginia, while Kansas and Iowa State will tangle in the No. 8 vs. No. 9 matchup.

Previous title winners at the women’s championship include Texas, which has notched eight postseason titles (1997-2002, 2005, 2012), while Baylor has won six (2006-’11) and Oklahoma State has one (2003).

The winners of the Big 12 postseason events punch automatic tickets to the NCAA Championships with first and second rounds taking place May 10-12 at various campus locations.


1. Baylor
2. Oklahoma
3. Texas
4. TCU
5. Texas Tech
6. Oklahoma State

1. Baylor
2. Texas Tech
3. Texas
4. TCU
5. Oklahoma State
6. Oklahoma
7. Kansas State
8. Kansas
9. Iowa State
10. West Virginia

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More