Print RSS
OSU Men, K- State and UT Women On Top After Day One at 2014 Indoor Championships
February 28, 2014

Championship Central

AMES, Iowa – After the first day of competition at the 2014 Big 12 Indoor Track & Field Championships at the Lied Recreation Center, the Oklahoma State men lead the field while Kansas State and Texas are tied atop the women’s standings. The Wildcat women claimed two victories and the Longhorn women earned a victory to score a team total of 38 points, putting the squads nine points ahead of third-place host Iowa State. The Cowboys put up a score of 39 points to lead Kansas State by six points.

In the women’s field events, Erica Twiss (Kansas State) claimed the pentathlon title after a 2:15.23 in the 800-meter run to jump from third to first, with a total of 4,074 points. Twiss becomes the fifth Wildcat to win the pentathlon at the league event. Sara Savatovic earned another victory for the Wildcats in the weight throw with a 63-03.50 (19.29m) throw on her final attempt. Texas’ Kaitlin Petrillose took home the title in the women’s pole vault, breaking the Big 12 Championship record along the way with a mark of 14-05.25 (4.40m). TCU’s Lorraine Ugen broke the second Championship record of the day with a 21-07.50 (6.59m) long jump to earn first place in the event.

On the men's side, Oklahoma State’s Nick Miller tied his championship throw mark from 2013, 20.63m, to claim back-to-back titles. Kansas State senior Kyle Wait won the pole vault by clearing a height of 17-10.50 (5.45m). Wrapping up the day’s field events for the men was Kansas State’s Jharyl Bowry, who won the long jump title with a mark of 24-05.00 (7.44m) to earn consecutive Big 12 titles.

After four events in the men’s heptathlon, Kansas State’s Devin Dick is pacing the field with a total of 3,164 points. He is followed by teammate Reinis Kregers who finished the day with 3,126 points. The heptathlon will continue Saturday at 11:00 a.m., beginning with the 60-meter hurdles.

Samantha Bluske (Iowa State) won the women’s 5,000-meter race, posting a time of 16:19.36. It marks the fifth year in a row a Cyclone has taken the title.

Oklahoma State’s Kirubel Erassa claimed the men’s 5,000-meter run, clocking a time of 14:11.29. The Cowboys took three of the top four spots in the race with Shane Moskowitz finishing in second (14:13.32) and Brian Gohlke claiming fourth (14:16.78).

In the final running event of the night, the Iowa State women won the distance medley relay with a time of 11:12.31, barely edging out Baylor (11:12.99). Oklahoma claimed the men’s DMR title with a time of 9:45.32 to repeat as Big 12 champions.

The event wraps up on Saturday, March 1, with a full schedule, starting with the final portions of the heptathlon at 11 a.m., along with the field and running events. The final day of events will be streamed live on


1. Oklahoma State – 39 points
2. Kansas State – 33 points
3. Texas Tech – 26 points

1. Kansas State – 38 points
1. Texas – 38 points
3. Iowa State – 29 points

< Men's Basketball
Popular on
Load More