Print RSS
Big 12 Women's Basketball Season Review Notes
April 19, 2012

WBB Notes in PDF

The Big 12 has won the last two national championships.

Baylor became the first Division I men's or women's program to reach 40 wins with its 40-0 record in 2011-12.

Since inception in 1996-97, the Big 12 is one of two conferences with national championships by two different teams, and the only since 2002.

The Big 12 was the only league in 2011-12 with four programs that had won national championships (Texas/1986, Texas Tech/1993, Baylor/2005 and 2012 and Texas A&M/2011).

Since 2002, the Big 12 is one of two leagues (Big East) with four different institutions making appearances in the Women's Final Four.

The Big 12 has eight Women's Final Four appearances since 2002 and has placed at least one team in the national semifinals four consecutive seasons.

Seven teams participated in the NCAA Division I Women's Basketball Championship for the sixth year and third straight in 2012. The Conference also had seven NCAA bids in 2001, 2002, 2004, 2010 and 2011.

The Big 12 led all leagues with 70 percent of its teams in the 2012 NCAA Championship and 90 percent in postseason play.

Since 2000, the Big 12 has made 83 NCAA Tournament appearances, which is second nationally.

The Big 12 is one of two leagues to have at least six NCAA appearances each year since 2007.

TCU and West Virginia, who will join the Big 12 on July 1, 2012, have a combined 17 NCAA Tournament appearances. WVU has qualified for the NCAA field five of the last six seasons while TCU participated in the Big Dance nine out of the last 12 years.


< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More