Print RSS
Big 12 Women's Basketball Begins Postseason Play
March 18, 2014

Current WBB Notes in PDF

No. 2 seeds Baylor and West Virginia are among six Big 12 teams that will participate in the 64-team 2014 NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Championship.  Other Conference squads “dancing” are No. 5 seeds Texas and Oklahoma State, No. 7 seed Iowa State and No. 10 seed Oklahoma.

TCU earned the Big 12’s automatic berth into the WNIT to give the Conference 70% of its teams in postseason play.

The Big 12 is the only conference to place 60% of its teams in the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship. 

This marks the fifth-straight year for the Big 12 to lead the nation in percentage of teams in the NCAA field. The Conference has led or tied for the nation’s top spot in seven of eight years dating back to 2007.

The Big 12 has placed at least six teams in the NCAA Championship eight-consecutive years and 14 times overall since inception in 1996-97. 

The Big 12 is the only league that has had at least six NCAA tournament appearances every year since 2007.

The Big 12 has a nation’s-best 65 percent (13-20) of its men’s and women’s basketball teams competing in the NCAA Championships.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More