Print RSS
Big 12 Women's Basketball 2013-14 Season Review
April 16, 2014

Big 12 WBB Current Notes in PDF

Baylor, Iowa State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas and West Virginia represented the Big 12 in the 2014 NCAA Women’s Basketball Championship  while TCU participated in the WNIT to give the Conference 70 percent of its teams in postseason play.

The Big 12 advanced at least two teams to the NCAA Championship regional semifinals for the sixth-straight year to total 15 appearances since 2009.

This year marked the fifth-straight for the Big 12 to lead the nation in percentage of teams in the NCAA field. The Conference has led or tied for the nation’s top spot in seven of eight years dating back to 2007.

The Big 12 has placed at least six teams in the NCAA Championship eight-consecutive years and 14 times overall since inception in 1996-97. 

The Big 12 is the only league that has had at least six NCAA tournament appearances every year since 2007.

The Conference had two 30-win teams (Baylor - 32 and West Virginia - 30) for just the second time in league history.

Eight current Big 12 members have won a Big 12 regular season title and five have captured a Conference postseason championship.

The Big 12 is the only among the peer conferences to conduct a double round-robin schedule in which every team plays the other league members twice for a total of 18 games.

Every Big 12 team finished the non-conference portion of its schedule with a winning record for the seventh-consecutive season.

70 percent of Conference teams finished in the top 65 of the final NCAA RPI in 2013-14.

90 percent of Big 12 teams had a win over a nationally ranked opponent.

The Big 12 had a unanimous first team All-America selection for the 15th year, including 14 consecutive.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More