Print RSS
Griner Finalist for 2013 Naismith Women’s Player of the Year
March 22, 2013

Baylor’s Brittney Griner, defending Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year, is one of four finalists for the 2013 award, announced by the Atlanta Tipoff Club.

The other three finalists are Elena Delle Donne (Delaware), Skylar Diggins (Notre Dame) and Chiney Ogwumike (Stanford).

The quarter was chosen by the Atlanta Tipoff Club’s National Voting Academy, which determined that their performances throughout the 2013 regular season stood out among a host of great women’s basketball players. The 2013 Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year presented by AT&T will be awarded to one of these four finalists on April 8, 2013, in New Orleans, La.

For the ninth consecutive year, fans will have the opportunity to vote for the player of their choice and help determine the 2013 Naismith Trophy winner. Beginning March 25 through April 6 fans can cast their vote by calling **VOTE (**8683).* Naismith Women’s College Player of the Year Trophy presenting sponsor AT&T is making the voting open to customers of other wireless carriers, enabling even more fans to participate.

Should Griner win her second consecutive Naismith Women’s College Basketball Player of the Year Trophy presented by AT&T, she would become the sixth women’s player to achieve the honor in back-to-back seasons (the first since LSU’s Seimone Augustus in 2005-2006) and the seventh overall multiple-time winner of the award.

Griner is a three-time Big 12 Player of the Year and four-time Big 12 Defensive Player of the Year. This season, the 6-8 center is ranked third in the NCAA in points scored per game (23.3) and second in the NCAA in blocks per game (4.1), and ranks No. 1 nationally in field goal percentage (.604). She led Baylor to the 2012-13 Big 12 Conference regular season and postseasons championships and a consensus No. 1 ranking in NCAA women’s basketball polls.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More