Print RSS
Six From Big 12 Named AFCA Good Works Team Nominees
July 25, 2013
Six Big 12 student-athletes from six different member institutions have been named nominees for the 2013 Allstate AFCA Good Works Team.

The AFCA Good Works Team is comprised of collegiate football players who make an impact not only on the field but in their communities.  Nominees for the Good Works Team have demonstrated their compassion for others through natural disaster relief efforts, volunteering with sick and underprivileged children and other community service activities. These student-athletes have also demonstrated the exceptional ability to balance academics and athletics.

This year’s Big 12 nominees are Bryce Petty (Baylor), Kirby Van Der Kamp (Iowa State), Tyler Lockett (K-State), Gabe Ikard (Oklahoma), Jackson Jeffcoat (Texas) and Will Clarke (West Virginia).

The 2013 list of nominees includes a record 150 student-athletes from across collegiate football. Nominations were made by sports information directors on behalf of their schools. A voting panel consisting of former Allstate AFCA Good Works Team members and college football media members will select the 2013 Good Works Team. The final roster of 22 recipients will be revealed in September.

Forty-one Big 12 student-athletes have been named to the Good Works Team. Collin Klein (K-State) is the Big 12’s most recent Good Works Team member after being named to the 2012 team.
< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More