Print RSS
Five Quarterbacks Named to Davey O達rien Watch List
July 16, 2014

The Big 12 placed five student-athletes on the 2014 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award Watch List that was announced Wednesday morning.

Bryce Petty (Baylor), Jake Waters (K-State), Trevor Knight (Oklahoma), J.W. Walsh (Oklahoma State) and Davis Webb (Texas Tech) all represent the conference on the 2014 preseason list.

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The award honors candidates who exemplify the trophy’s namesake Davey O’Brien, and his enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award and selection process is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas.

Petty, who was a semifinalist for the award last season, is one of six returning semifinalists on this season’s list. Last season he led the nation in yards per-completion (16.80) and was ranked second nationally in passing efficiency (174.29) and points responsible for per-game (21.2). Petty also led the Big 12 with 4,200 passing yards (fourth nationally), 339.2 yards per game of total offense (eighth nationally), 32 passing touchdowns (11th nationally), and 14 rushing touchdowns (19th nationally).

Waters, who has also been named to the Maxwell Award preseason watch list, threw for 2,469 yards and 18 touchdowns during his first season with the Wildcats last season. He completed the 2013 season winning six of the Wildcats last seven games, where he threw for over 200 yards-per-game and recorded 14 touchdowns and only four interceptions. The Council Bluffs, Iowa, native enters his senior campaign with the top career passing efficiency rating in K-State history (156.8) and is ranked fourth nationally in yards per completion (15.53). Waters also finished third in the Big 12 in passing yards per game (189.9) last season.

Knight enters the 2014 season following a Sugar Bowl MVP performance from the Sooners 45-31 win over Alabama. During that game, he passed for 348 yards and four touchdowns. Knight also tallied 819 yards through the air last season with nine touchdowns, while also accounting for 445 rushing yards in just eight games played.

Walsh enters the 2014 season after seeing action in eight games last season. During his sophomore season, Walsh ranked second on the team in total offense per game with 203.4 and was the team’s second leading passer with 1,333 yards and nine passing touchdowns.

Webb enters his 2014 campaign following a 2013 Holiday Bowl MVP performance to cap what was a record setting season. During his Holiday Bowl appearance, Webb aired it out to tally 403 yards and four touchdowns with no interceptions in the Red Raider’s 37-23 victory over Arizona State. Webb played in 10 games last season, including six starts, and amassed 2,718 yards and 20 touchdowns.

The Davey O’Brien Foundation will announce semifinalists for the award on November 3, and three finalists on November 24. The winner of the award will be announced live on December 11 during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show on ESPN.

< Women's Basketball
Popular on
Load More