Print RSS
Five Big 12 Squads Earn Bids To 2011 NCAA Soccer Championship
November 07, 2011
Baylor, Kansas, Oklahoma State, Texas and Texas A&M were selected to the 2011 NCAA Division I Women's Soccer Championship, the NCAA announced. All five teams will compete in opening round action starting with three games on Friday, Nov. 11.

For the first time since 1999, Baylor (14-3-3, 5-2-1) was invited to the NCAA Championship as the Bears will host Texas State on Saturday, Nov. 12 at 6 p.m. BU posted its most regular season wins since 1998 and its most league wins since 2000. Baylor has already defeated Texas State this season, earning a 2-0 shutout over the Bobcats on September 9.

Kansas (12-8-1, 3-5) will be making its fifth NCAA appearance and first since 2008. To open its tournament run, KU will host Georgia on Sunday, Nov. 13 at noon. The Jayhawks took down 20th-ranked San Diego on August 28 as part of a 5-1 start to the season, before finishing seventh in Big 12 action. During the 2008 appearance, Kansas advanced to the second round.

The Big 12 regular season champion Oklahoma State Cowgirls (19-1-2, 6-0-2) will be one of four No. 2 seeds in the 64-team bracket. OSU will face Arkansas-Pine Bluff at 7 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 11 at the Cowgirl Soccer Complex in first round action. During the regular season, Oklahoma State became the first Big 12 team since 1996 to complete its regular season slate unbeaten. It marks the sixth straight NCAA berth, seventh overall, for the Cowgirls. OSU reached the Elite Eight last season, before losing to eventual National Champion Notre Dame.

Texas (11-8-1, 3-4-1) will travel to South Carolina for a first-round match on Friday, Nov. 11 at 6 p.m. The Longhorns are making their ninth NCAA postseason appearance and second straight after falling to James Madison in the first round last season.

Just a day after claiming the Big 12 Championship crown and the league's automatic bid, Texas A&M (15-5-2, 6-1-1), will start the NCAA Championship at home against LSU at 6:30 p.m. on Friday, Nov. 11. The third-seeded Aggies will be making their 17th consecutive trip to the tournament. In 2010, TAMU advanced out of the first round of NCAA play with a 4-3 victory in penalty kicks over North Dakota State. Texas A&M finished the regular season with a 7-0-2 unbeaten streak with six of its seven wins in that span being shutouts.

The NCAA Championship continues with the second and third rounds Nov. 18-20, and quarterfinal play on Nov. 25. The College Cup is set for Dec. 2 and 4 in Kennesaw, Ga.

Big 12 Teams in the NCAA Championship
Friday, Nov. 11
Texas at South Carolina, 6 p.m.
LSU at (3) Texas A&M, 6:30 p.m.
Arkansas-Pine Bluff at (2) Oklahoma State, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 12
Texas State at Baylor, 6 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 13
Georgia at Kansas, Noon

< Soccer
Popular on
Load More